Get help finding images, video, and audio clips. Also see copyright information.
Last Updated: May 30, 2013
You should always give credit to the image source. Some images may be restricted under copyright. The Library is not responsible for improper use of images.
Find images online and through St. Catherine University's Digital Collections
A digital library of more than one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images.
OCLC's CAMIO (Catalog of Art Museum Images Online) is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums. Includes photographs, prints, sculpture, paintings, and more.
- SMART Imagebase
A comprehensive collection of downloadable medical illustrations, animations, and interactive multimedia for 26 body systems/regions and 19 medical specialties.
- St. Catherine University Digital Collections
The online home for unique collections on campus. These resources are made readily accessible to students, faculty, and the general public. Current collections include the Ade Bethune Collection, the Fine Art Collection, and the Photograph Collection.
- Every Stock Photo
A search engine for free photos. These come from many sources and are license-specific. You can view a photo's license by clicking on the license icon, below and left of photos. Membership is free, without advertising, and allows you to rate, tag, collect and comment on photos.
- Wikimedia Commons
A database of over 7 million freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute. Locate images by searching in the "Images" category at the top of the page.
- Microsoft Office Clip Art and Media
A large archive of photos (.jpg), clip art (.wmf), animations (gif), and audio (.wav). Browsable and searchable by topic. The MS copyright statement, in the section on "documents" which mentions "graphics", permits non-commercial and educational use, but forbids any networked distribution.
- Open Clip Art Library
A collection of vector (SVG) clipart made available under the Creative Commons license.
- Minnesota Historical Society Visual Resources Database
Information about photographs, artwork, posters, and fine art photographs from the collections of the Minnesota Historical Society are included in this database.
- Images from "The Sourcebook of Medical Illustration", University of Minnesota
A collection of high-quality medical illustrations used in the book "The Sourcebook of Medical Illustration", made available for public use by the University of Minnesota.
Images in the public domain are not restricted under copyright. You should always give credit when using images.
- Flickr - Explore
Flickr 'powers that be' choose images daily to be part of a collection of the most 'interesting' uploads, or on the basis of 'interestingness'.
- Flickr - Tour
Covers the basics of how Flickr works for most users.
- Flickr: Creative Commons
Non-profit alternative to full copyright permits others to use their images, with different restrictions explained here.