Tips for finding and search e-books
Art & MusicBusiness & LawClassicsHealth & MedicineHistory & Political ScienceLiteratureLibrary SciencePhilosophy & TheologyPsychologyScience & TechnologySocial SciencesEncyclopedias
This is the "Getting started" page of the "E-Books and Online Sources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
University Home My Account About Us Library Hours Search Library's Website Search & Find Services Academic Media Services Archives & Special Collections Library Home

E-Books and Online Sources   Tags: e_books, general_reference  

KateWay login or library barcode required for off-campus access.
Last Updated: Apr 9, 2013 URL: http://libguides.stkate.edu/ebooks Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Getting started Print Page
  Search: 
 

E-book Collections

e-booksThe library offers more than 17,000 books in electronic format from various publishers and providers. Our major collections of e-books include:

 

 

  • Britannica Online  
      
    Browse or search more than 100,000 articles from Encyclopædia Britannica
  • Cambridge Histories Online
    Online access to more than 300 volumes from the Cambridge Histories series, providing scholarly coverage of many academic subjects
  • Credo Reference  
      
    A digital reference library of dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, books of quotations, and subject-specific titles, covering many subjects, all from leading publishers.
  • EBSCO eBook Collection
    A collection of more than 12,500 electronic books, including scholarly monographs, reference materials, and more. Formerly known as NetLibrary.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    A database of encyclopedias and other reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
  • Oxford Reference  
      
    Full-text dictionaries and other reference books in many subject areas from Oxford University Press
  • SAGE Knowledge (formerly SAGE Reference Online)
    A collection of more than 170 specialized encyclopedias and handbooks. Particularly strong in the social sciences, medicine, and the environment.
  • EBSCO eBook Academic Subscription Collection (trial access expires 4/30/2013)  Icon
    This growing subscription package contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter and is a strong complement for any academic collection. The breadth of information available through this package ensures that users will have access to information relevant to their research needs. More than 113,000 titles are included in this package – all titles are available with unlimited user access, and titles are added to the package each month at no additional cost. Subject coverage includes art, business & economics, education, language arts, literary criticism, medical, performing arts, philosophy, poetry, political science, religion, social science, technology & engineering, and more.

Freely-available e-books

Open-access titles and books in the public domain are increasingly available for free over the Internet. Check out these sources for freely-available e-books on a variety of topics.

 

Selected e-books by subject

Encyclopedias / Ready Reference

©2013 St. Catherine University Libraries, St. Paul / Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Google Map Google Map Ask Us
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip