BiologyBusinessEducationEnglishFamily & Consumer ScienceHistoryLibrary ScienceOrganizational LeadershipPsychologySocial WorkSociologySpanishStatisticsTheologyVoting & TaxesWomen's Studies
E-book Encyclopedias
This is the "General Reference Books" page of the "Reference Sources for Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Reference Sources for Research  

Find encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, thesauri, and more. Use reference books to get background information, facts, and context.
Last Updated: Jun 17, 2014 URL: http://libguides.stkate.edu/reference Print Guide RSS Updates

General Reference Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What are reference books?

A reference book (either e-book or print) is a collection of information on a given topic, usually organized alphabetically. Reference books include bibliographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, directories, and indexes.

General Reference


The library offers more than 17,000 books in electronic format from various publishers and providers. Our major collections of e-books include:

  • Britannica Online  
      
    Browse or search more than 100,000 articles from Encyclopædia Britannica
  • Cambridge Histories Online
    Online access to more than 300 volumes from the Cambridge Histories series, providing scholarly coverage of many academic subjects
  • Credo Reference  
      
    A digital reference library of dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, books of quotations, and subject-specific titles, covering many subjects, all from leading publishers.
  • EBSCO eBook Collection
    A collection of more than 12,500 electronic books, including scholarly monographs, reference materials, and more. Formerly known as NetLibrary.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    A database of encyclopedias and other reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
  • Oxford Reference  
      
    Full-text dictionaries and other reference books in many subject areas from Oxford University Press
  • SAGE Knowledge (formerly SAGE Reference Online)
    A collection of more than 170 specialized encyclopedias and handbooks. Particularly strong in the social sciences, medicine, and the environment.

Ready Reference E-books

 

Reference Universe

Reference Universe searches much of the reference collection—both print and online sources. You can count on these sources to be scholarly and authoritative.

Enter your search terms:

*Results list both links to e-books and print items (note call #s for books on reference shelves) .

 

General Reference

Find Reference Books in the reference section of the St. Paul or Minneapolis libraries or in E-Books and Online Reference Sources. These books cannot be checked out.

Cover Art
The American Heritage dictionary of the English language
Call Number: SCU Reference - PE1628 .A623 2000

Cover Art
The new Oxford American dictionary
Call Number: SCU Reference Desk - PE1628 .N429 2001

Cover Art
The Oxford English dictionary
Call Number: SCU Reference - PE1625 .O87 1989
20 volumes. Also available online.

Cover Art
The encyclopedia Americana
Call Number: SCU Reference - AE5 .E333 2000

Cover Art
The New Encyclopaedia Britannica
Call Number: SCU Reference - AE5 .E363 2005


Cover Art
Roget's international thesaurus
Call Number: SCU Reference - PE1591 .R73 1992

Cover Art
Roget's thesaurus of phrases
Call Number: SCU Reference - PE1689 .K47 2001

Cover Art
Catholic almanac
Call Number: SCU Reference - AY81.R6 N3 2010

Cover Art
The World almanac and book of facts
Call Number: SCU Reference - AY67.N5 W7 2010

©2014 St. Catherine University Libraries, St. Paul / Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip