Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Finding Book Reviews

Find sources for book reviews for coursework or personal reading

Welcome! You might be looking for a book review for a class assignment or just to find a new book to read - whatever you're here for, read on and learn how to find book reviews in databases, print publications, and online. Just looking for a good book to read? Click the tab "Looking for a Good Book?" to be redirected to our Popular Books guide!

Primary Databases

Below are databases that will help you find reviews. Many of them are best for reviews of fiction, but Choice Reviews Online specializes in reviews of academic books and popular nonfiction. If you're looking for some general reviews of a contemporary author's work, try Contemporary Authors; MLA International Bibliography is a great starting place when you search for the title you're interested in with "book review" in the search terms. 

Using CLICsearch to find reviews

If you're looking for a review, CLICsearch is a great place to start. Search for the book title you're looking for and, along the left-hand side of the page, limit your search by resource type to "Reviews." This will give you results that are only reviews of that book, available either in physical print copies in the library or via online access in a database. 

If you're looking for books in a particular subject area, such as Psychology or the Humanities, it might be helpful to go directly to a database associated with the subject, because CLICsearch searches all databases at the same time. To limit your search by subject, see "Databases by Subject" below! 

CLICsearch

Search for books, journals, articles, media & more


CLICsearch Guide: For more help, including how to request items in CLICsearch that are not at St. Kate's.

Requesting Articles from Interlibrary Loan

You may request items via ILLiad, our interlibrary loan system. Use your St. Kate's username and password to login.

ILLiad Login

Visit the Interlibrary Loan page for more information and assistance.

©2014 St. Catherine University Library, St. Paul, Minnesota, USA