Research Guides: Holistic Health Studies (HHS) Research Guide: Find Articles

Holistic Health Databases

CINAHL Ultimate
The primary database for nursing and alied health research with access to journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations.
CINAHL indexes all major nursing periodicals published in English, as well as selected periodicals for health education, laboratory technology, occupational therapy, physical therapy and rehabilitation, radiology, respiratory therapy and social services in health care. Provides the full text of more than 1,300 journals, some with PDF backfiles to 1937. Indexing began in 1982.
Alt HealthWatch
A collection of journal and magazine artices focused on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
In-depth coverage on both professional and consumer levels. Covers 1975-present.
PubMed
Uses the National Library of Medicine's search system to access MEDLINE, a primary database for journal articles in medicine, nursing, physical and occupational therapy, public health, health care administration, and more.
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's bibliographic covering all fields of medicine and medical research. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,300 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. Coverage through PubMed begins in 1879.
MEDLINE via EBSCO
A primary database for journal articles in medicine, nursing, physical and occupational therapy, public health, health care administration, and more. Uses the EBSCO search system to access MEDLINE.
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's bibliographic covering all fields of medicine and medical research. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,300 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. Coverage through EBSCO begins with 1950.
PsycInfo & PsycArticles
A primary psychology research database from the American Psychological Association. Also covers psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, sociology, education, social work, sports, business, and political science.
Nursing & Allied Health Premium
A database for nursing and allied health research and curriculum support that includes scholarly literature, clinical training videos, reference materials, and evidence-based resources.

Other Relevant Databases

ScienceDirect
A full-text journal article collection, mostly from scientific, medical, and technical fields.
Coverage begins in 1997 for most titles.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
A select collection of full text journal articles in nursing and consumer health.
Coverage begins in 1975.
GreenFILE
A collection of scholarly, government, and popular publications on many aspects of human impact on the environment.
GreenFILE offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its multidisciplinary collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
ERIC
A collection of journal articles, government publications, and documents in education and related fields.
ERIC links to selected full text articles and documents from the Education Resources Information Center (ERIC), sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education.
Academic Search Premier
A multidisciplinary database that is a good starting point for many topics.
Covers 1975 to the present.

The Cochrane Library
A database for locating evidence-based information on the effects of health care
more...less...
This resource includes the Database of Systematic Reviews, the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness, and the Controlled Trials Register.

Gale Health and Wellness
A collection of journal and magazine articles on popular health and wellness topics, diseases and disorders, and alternative and complementary therapies.
Coverage begins in 1980.

Introduction to the new EBSCOhost - tutorial (3:39 min.)

Watch this tutorial to learn the EBSCO basics (CINAHL, MEDLINE, Alt HealthWatch are EBSCO databases). Click on the CC button in in the video to see the closed captions.

Holistic Health Studies (HHS) Research Guide

Finding CIH Articles on PubMed

Looking for a Journal?

Find Journals, Newspapers & Magazines by Title

Can't Determine a Journal Title ("J Complement Integr Med") from its Abbreviation?

Getting too many or too few hits?

HHS Librarian

Holistic Health Databases

Other Relevant Databases

Introduction to the new EBSCOhost - tutorial (3:39 min.)