Research Guides: Biology: Articles

Biology Databases

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A full-text journal article collection, mostly from scientific, medical, and technical fields.
Coverage begins in 1997 for most titles.
MEDLINE via PubMed This link opens in a new window
Uses the National Library of Medicine's search system to access MEDLINE, a primary database for journal articles in medicine, nursing, physical and occupational therapy, public health, health care administration, and more.
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's bibliographic covering all fields of medicine and medical research. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,300 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. Coverage through PubMed begins in 1879.
Biological Sciences Collection on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of scholarly full-text journals, including the Biological Sciences Collection, which covers biodiversity, cell biology, conservation, paleontology, plant science, zoology, and more.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
An Internet search engine for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports.
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Our link to Google Scholar enables you to see which documents you can access through St. Kate's.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
A collection of scholarly, government, and popular publications on many aspects of human impact on the environment.
GreenFILE offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its multidisciplinary collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

Tools for Finding Articles

Searching for an article?

Try the databases. Many have full-text articles.

Found a good article in a database and it's not full text?

Click on to see if St. Kate's has the article in another database or in print.

Have a citation and want to find the article?

Use LibSearch to search for the title of the article or the journal title.

For more assistance, contact a librarian.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar offers a wealth of full text articles and books on your topic. When using Google scholar from offsite, make sure you add the St. Catherine University library in the SCHOLAR PREFERENCES link, so that you have additional instant access to the articles that the University subscribes to. Without indicating this preference, you will oftentimes have to purchase the article through the publisher.

Search Tutorials

Basic Search Strategies
10 minute course that shows how to create an effective search strategy to find relevant resources on your topic.
Advanced Search Tutorial
15 minute tutorial that will demonstrate techniques you can use to to create a more advanced search strategy for efficient searching.
Finding Full Text
Tutorial to show you how to find the full text to any article