Research Guides: Chemistry: Articles

Chemistry Databases

Reaxys This link opens in a new window
A database containing information on chemical compounds, structures, reactions, and data from published literature, including journals and patents.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A full-text journal article collection, mostly from scientific, medical, and technical fields.
Coverage begins in 1997 for most titles.
American Chemical Society Journals This link opens in a new window
A full-text database of over 70 publications from the American Chemical Society.
chemistry journals in full text, including some related to biochemistry. Now includes a backfile, with some journals going back as far as 1879. Please note terms of use.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
An Internet search engine for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports.
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Our link to Google Scholar enables you to see which documents you can access through St. Kate's.

Chemistry - More databases to try

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Uses the National Library of Medicine's search system to access MEDLINE, a primary database for journal articles in medicine, nursing, physical and occupational therapy, public health, health care administration, and more.
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's bibliographic covering all fields of medicine and medical research. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,300 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. Coverage through PubMed begins in 1879.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
A collection of scholarly, government, and popular publications on many aspects of human impact on the environment.
GreenFILE offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its multidisciplinary collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that is a good starting point for many topics.
Covers 1975 to the present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of scholarly full-text journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
The JSTOR archive holds the complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals, starting with the very first issues, some dating as far back as the 1600s. Subject areas include the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

JSTOR includes various collections, and the St. Kate's Library has purchased the Arts and Sciences Collections I-VII and the Biological Sciences Collection. These collections include subsets for ecology & botany, language & literature, and music.

JSTOR's agreements with publishers often include a "moving wall," which means that the most recent years (typically 3-5 years) are not available.

Tools for Finding Articles

Searching for an article?

Try the databases. Many have full-text articles.

Found a good article in a database and it's not full text?

Click on to see if St. Kate's has the article in another database or in print.

Have a citation and want to find the article?

Use LibSearch to search for the title of the article or the journal title.

For more assistance, contact a librarian.

Chemistry

Librarian

Chemistry Databases

Chemistry - More databases to try

Tools for Finding Articles

Looking for a Journal

Find Journals, Newspapers & Magazines by Title