Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Biochemistry

Chemistry Databases

Chemistry - More databases to try

Finding Primary resources

How do you tell the difference between a Primary and a Secondary Source?

Primary source documents in the sciences focus on original research, ideas, or findings.

The abstract gives specifics about the methods of the study. The articles have a particular format: Abstract, Introduction, Methods,  Results, and Discussion sections.

examples:

::  Published results of research

::  Published results of scientific

    experiments

::  Published results of  clinical  

    trials and case studies

::  Conference proceedings

A Secondary source interprets or analyzes more than one primary source.

A secondary source lacks the characteristics of a primary source. Look for the lack of the primary source format and words such as "review" "summary". 

examples:

:: Publications about the signficance of research

::  Analysis of a clinical trial

::  Review of the results of several experiments or trials, a.k.a. meta-analyses or review articles

::  Literature reviews, dictionaries, bibliographies & encyclopedias


Tools for Finding Articles

Searching for an article?

  • Try the databases. Many have full-text articles.

Found a good article in a database and it's not full text?

  • Click on  to see if St. Kate's has the article in another database or in print.

Have a citation and want to find the article?

  • Use CLICsearch to search for the title of the article or the journal title.

For more assistance, contact a librarian.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar offers a wealth of full text articles and books on your topic. When using Google scholar from offsite, make sure you add the St. Catherine University library in the SCHOLAR PREFERENCES link, so that you have additional  instant access to the articles that the University subscribes to. Without indicating this preference, you will oftentimes have to purchase the article through the publisher.

Looking for a Journal

Find Journals, Newspapers & Magazines by Title

Search for a title, like JAMA, Harvard Business Review, or New York Times.

 

Requesting Articles from Interlibrary Loan

You may request items via ILLiad, our interlibrary loan system. Use your St. Kate's username and password to login.

ILLiad Login

Visit the Interlibrary Loan page for more information and assistance.

©2014 St. Catherine University Library, St. Paul, Minnesota, USA