Research Guides: Public Health: Health Data

Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

St. Kate's Library, St. Paul Campus
Office #114
651-690-8739
ambeschnett@stkate.edu

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Exercise & Sport Science, Health & Medicine, Leganto, Mathematics, Nutrition & Dietetics, Physics, Public Health, Sciences, TRW

Librarian

Lizzy Tegeler

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Library, CdC 115

651-690-8738

Subjects: Art & Art History, Critical Studies in Race & Ethnicity, Economics, Family & Consumer Science, International Relations, Law, Organizational Leadership, Political Science, Sociology, TRW

United States

Administration for Children & Families
The Administration for Children and Families site contains statistics about child well-being and care, including adoption and foster care rates, child maltreatment and abuse statistics.
Administration on Aging: Statistics
Includes a Profile of Older Americans, Census Data & Population Estimates, Projected Future Growth of Older Population, Minority Aging, and Key Indicators of Well-Being.
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
Part of the U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, this agency supports and disseminates health services research.
AgingStats.Gov
Includes information on health care, health risks, retirement and economics of the U.S. aging population. The website of the Federal Interagency Forum on Aging-Related Statistics. The report Older Americans: Key Indicators of Well-Being is available here (covering 31 key indicators selected by the Forum to portray aspects of the lives of older Americans and their families. It is divided into five subject areas: population, economics, health status, health risks and behaviors, and health care.) The site also links to aging-related statistical information on Forum member websites.
CDC Wonder
The Centers for Disease Control database that provides access to a wide variety of CDC reports, guidelines, and publicly available data sets. Users may register to use the database or may log-on anonymously.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance Survey (BRFSS)
The BRFSS site provides data sets from telephone surveys that collect information about U.S. residents on health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: Data and Statistics
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES)
This site provides data from the National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey, which assesses the health and nutritional status of both adults and children in the U.S.
ChildStats.gov
Provides statistical reports on the status of US children and their families. Coverage includes population and family characteristics, economic security, health, behavior and social environment, and education. From the Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics.
Compendium of Publicly Available Datasets and Other Data-Related Resources
The Compendium of Publicly Available Datasets and Other Data-Related Resources is produced by the National Partnership for Action to End Health Disparities. The Compendium provides information on publicly available data relevant to research and programs aiming to reduce health disparities. The Compendium compiles descriptions of and links to 132 public datasets and resources that include information about health conditions and other factors that impact the health of minority populations.
Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care
Examines disparities in medical care and resources within the United States
Fast Stats from the CDC
Quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance, organized alphabetically. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages.
FedStats
The gateway to statistics from over 100 U.S. federal agencies. Browse topics, find programs and agencies, and search the database.
Google Dataset Search (Beta)
Dataset Search enables users to find datasets stored across thousands of repositories on the Web. Dataset Search is currently in Beta, with the greatest coverage in environmental and social sciences, as well as government data.
Guttmacher: Sexual & Reproductive Health
Organization dedicated to advancing sexual and reproductive health in the United States and worldwide through an interrelated program of social science research, policy analysis and public education.
Health, United States
Presents national trends in health statistics on such topics as birth and death rates, infant mortality, life expectancy, morbidity and health status, risk factors, use of ambulatory and inpatient care, health personnel and facilities, financing of health care, health insurance and managed care, and other health topics.
Health Insurance Data from the Census Bureau
National Archive of Computerized Data on Aging
Funded by the National Institute on Aging
National Cancer Institute
In-depth information about most cancers, including cancer statistics, cure or survival rates, incidence and costs. The Institute's Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results (SEER) Program also provides annually updated reports on the incidences of various cancers. The SEER reports identify population subgroups and geographic areas where national cancer control measures are focused.
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA)
NHTSA's National Center for Statistics and Analysis disseminates statistics on traffic safety, motor vehicle fatalities, crashes and injuries.
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID)
The NIAID fact sheet pages are particularly useful in that they provide statistics on most known infectious diseases both common and rare. The statistics quoted are authoritative and thoroughly cited.
National Institute on Drug Abuse
From the National Institute on Drug Abuse: data on drug addiction, including use of alcohol and tobacco, and drug addiction among specific populations; and HIV/AIDS
National Safety Council
Offers U.S. and some international statistics on accidents and unintentional injuries. Also offers safety fact sheets on popular topics, some of which contain statistics.
Native Health Database
The Native Health Database contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations
State Health Facts Online
The Kaiser Family Foundation has created a web page that offers recent state-level data. The site does an excellent job of graphically presenting demographic data as well as statistics on health and health policy, including health insurance coverage and access, and health education. Data can be easily compared state to state. Noteworthy, are the numerous health statistics by race/ethnicity collected for each state.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)
SAMHSA and its component, the Drug and Alcohol Information System (DASIS) collects and provides statistics which describe the extent, cost, impact, and treatments of addictive and mental illnesses. Federal and state statistics are available here.

International

WHO Statistical Information System
Access to data from the World Health Organization. Some data are provided in downloadable Excel spreadsheets. Links to other health agencies in member countries are also supplied.
Country Health Profiles
From the Pan American Health Organization, these country profiles for the Americas provide vital statistics, access to healthcare estimates, disease incidences, epidemiological data and vaccination rates. Good discussion of each country's challenges and barriers with regard to healthcare.
Demographic and Health Surveys
From the U.S. Agency for International Development, surveys about maternal and child health, population development, AIDS, malaria, malnutrition, and more for over 90 countries.

Minnesota

Minnesota Department of Health
Health data and statistics for the state.
Hennepin County Public Health Data
Ramsey County Public Health Data

Library Databases

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
An index of nursing journals and the primary journals from 17 allied health disciplines, including occupational therapy and physical therapy.
CINAHL indexes all major nursing periodicals published in English, as well as selected periodicals for health education, laboratory technology, occupational therapy, physical therapy and rehabilitation, radiology, respiratory therapy and social services in health care. Provides the full text of more than 1,300 journals, some with PDF backfiles to 1937. Indexing began in 1982.

Global Health Data/Statistics

World Health Organization

The World Health Organization (WHO) is the agency of the United Nations responsible for international public health. WHO collects and publishes a wide range of data used to monitor health trends worldwide.

WHO Global Health Observatory
The Global Health Observatory provides access to WHO's health-related statistics for its 194 member countries. It provides access to over hundreds of indicators on health topics including mortality and burden of diseases, the Millennium Development Goals, non communicable diseases and risk factors, health systems, environmental health, violence and injuries, etc. You can explore by health indicator or browse by country.
WHO World Health Statistics Report
WHO's annual publication, providing access to the most recent health statistics of its member countries, including charts, tables, and figures relating to life expectancy, morality/morbidity, infectious diseases, health services, risk factors, health systems, health systems, health expenditures, health inequities, and demographic/socioeconomic statistics.

United Nations

The United Nations is the intergovernmental organization aiming to maintain international peace and security, including work with international public health through the World Health Organization.

UNdata
UNdata
UN Human Development Indicators
Explore human development data by country.
UN Millennium Development Goals Indicators
This site provides official data, definitions, methodologies and sources for more than 60 indicators to measure progress towards the Millennium Development Goals, with data available at the country level.

USAID

The United States Agency for International Development (USAID) administers foreign aid and development assistance, with global health efforts focused around child/maternal mortality, HIV/AIDS, and infectious disease prevention.

Demographic and Health Surveys Program
Funded by USAID, the DHS Program collects and disseminates data on population, health, HIV, and nutrition through more than 400 surveys in over 90 countries.

UNICEF

UNICEF is the United Nations agency responsible for providing humanitarian and developmental aid to children worldwide. Data is collected through surveys of children and women around the world.

UNICEF Data and Analytics
UNICEF’s Data & Analytics collects, collection, validation, analysis, use and communication of the most statistically sound, internationally comparable data on the situation of children and women around the world.

The World Bank

The World Bank is an international financial institution that provides loans and grants to the governments of low- and middle-income countries with the aim of reducing poverty, increasing shared prosperity, and promoting sustainable development.

World Bank HealthStats
HealthStats is the World Bank’s portal to its comprehensive collection of Health, Nutrition and Population (HNP) statistics. It includes over 250 indicators on topics such as health financing and the health workforce; immunization and the incidence of HIV and AIDS, malaria and tuberculosis, non-communicable diseases and the causes of death; nutrition, clean water and sanitation, and reproductive health; as well as population estimates and population projection.

Department/Ministry of Health for Specific Countries

For some health data/statistics, you may need to consult the Department of Health/Ministry of Health for the specific country of interest. Some information may not be available in English.

List of Health Departments and Ministries
A list of country specific Departments of Health/Health Ministries from Wikipedia. Each Wikipedia entry will link to the departmental website.

Video: Finding Global Health Data & Statistics