Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Off-campus access to library resources

All you need to know about accessing our databases and other e-resources from off-campus locations

Special off-campus access situations

Gale ebooks

To access these e-books, you'll need to have cookies enabled in your browser. If cookies are not enabled, you may see the message: "You have logged out and your session has ended. Where can we take you?" See the section on cookies above for instructions on enabling cookies. If you're using Internet Explorer, be sure to enable session cookies.

"Password required:" Resources that require a second username/password login

Some database providers require a special username/password login for their databases. Here's how to access these databases:

  1. Select the link to connect to the database.
  2. You will be prompted to login as usual.
  3. A page showing the special username and password for the database will be displayed. Make a note of this information.
  4. Finally, select the "Connect to" link to connect to the database. Once you connect, login with the special username and password for the database.

Connecting from your place of work

If you are connecting from a corporation, hospital campus, school district, or government office, there may be a firewall in place that prevents you from using EZproxy. If this is the case, you will need to contact your help desk or IT staff to see if the firewall can be adjusted to allow you to use EZproxy. Some companies have employee's browsers configured to use their own proxy server (or to not enable acceptance of cookies, or some other security setting) that may interfere with EZproxy's functioning. Please check with your IT staff at work to see if this could be causing you trouble.

©2014 St. Catherine University Library, St. Paul, Minnesota, USA