Research Guides: LGBTQIA+ (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Intersex, Asexual) Studies: Articles

General/Multi-disciplinary Databases

Because LGBT Studies is an inter-disciplinary field, you will want to look for information in both general and/or subject-specific databases depending on your topic.

Academic Search Premier
An all-purpose academic database containing both popular & scholarly articles that is a good starting point for many topics
Covers 1975 to the present.
Google Scholar
An Internet search engine for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports.
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Our link to Google Scholar enables you to see which documents you can access through St. Kate's.
JSTOR
An archive of scholarly full-text journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The JSTOR archive holds the complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals, starting with the very first issues, some dating as far back as the 1600s.
The JSTOR archive holds the complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals, starting with the very first issues, some dating as far back as the 1600s. Subject areas include the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

JSTOR includes various collections, and the St. Kate's Library has purchased the Arts and Sciences Collections I-VII and the Biological Sciences Collection. These collections include subsets for ecology & botany, language & literature, and music.

JSTOR's agreements with publishers often include a "moving wall," which means that the most recent years (typically 3-5 years) are not available.

Subject-specific Databases

Good for exploring LGBT studies within a specific discipline such as:

History of the gay rights movement
Mass media coverage of LGBT people and issues
LGBT authors & artists
LGBT movements in an international context
Religious perspecives on homosexuality
Etc.

More subject-specific databases can be found in the Databases by subject section of the library's website.

America: History & Life
Scholarly articles on U.S. and Canadian History.

A complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. It indexes and abstracts more than 2,000 journals published worldwide. Book reviews, media reviews, and disserations are also indexed. Indexing began in 1954. This database is produced by ABC-CLIO, but you access it through EBSCO.
Art Full Text
A full-text database of art publications from the 1920s onwards, including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins.
Art Full Text indexes more than 400 leading art publications from around the world, including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, and provides the full text for more than 100 periodicals. Our access includes Art Index Retrospective, which extends indexing back to 1929. Together, these databases cover topics such as art history, archaeology, architecture, crafts, film, folk art, graphic arts, industrial design, interior design, landscape architecture, museology, painting, photography, sculpture, and textiles. The databases also index reproductions of works of art that appear anywhere in the indexed publications. Full text coverage begins in 1997.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS
A database for scholarly articles in theology, religion, and spirituality.
Updated monthly, Atla contains over 3 million index records covering the research literature of religion in many languages. Bibliographic records represent scholarship on major religions, faiths, denominations and languages.
Communication and Mass Media Complete
Articles from scholarly journals in communication, mass media, and related fields.
This database offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 440 journals in communication and mass media, selective coverage of nearly 200 additional journals, and full text for more than 500 journals. Many of the more important journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable cited references from their first issues (dating as far back as 1915) to the present.

Special features include a Communication Thesaurus, searchable cited references for peer-reviewed journals, and profiles providing biographical and bibliographical data for of more than 3,000 authors in the field.

The database incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study.
ERIC
Indexes journal articles and documents in education and related fields. Please note: ERIC has temporarily disabled access to many full-text documents. Find out more.
ERIC links to selected full text articles and documents from the Education Resources Information Center (ERIC), sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education.
Historical Abstracts
A database that provides access to scholarly articles on world history
This resource excludes the history of United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life. Indexes and abstracts articles from more than 2,000 journals. Also includes book reviews and dissertations. Indexing coverage begins in 1954.

This database is produced by ABC-CLIO, but you access it through the EBSCO website.

In the First Person: Index to Letters, Diaries, Oral Histories, and Other Personal Narratives
Search for letters, diaries, oral histories, memoirs, and autobiographies within scholarly materials, some freely available on the Web

MLA International Bibliography
A database of scholarly articles in the fields of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore produced by the Modern Language Association of America.
Coverage begins in 1923.
PAIS Index
Indexes publications about public policy and social issues from 120 countries.
Database chronicling global public policy and social issues. Indexes periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, Internet resources, and other publications from 120 countries. Coverage begins in 1915.
Education Database - Proquest
A comprehensive resource for education and related fields, containing articles (scholarly, trade, and magazine), dissertations, and more.
ProQuest Education Database covers not only the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education but also special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics. Coverage begins in 1988.
PsycInfo & PsycArticles
A primary psychology research database from the American Psychological Association. Also covers psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, sociology, education, social work, sports, business, and political science.
SocINDEX with Full Text
A comprehensive sociology database with strong coverage of social work, anthropology, and education.
A comprehensive social sciences research database with full text for more than 1,700 journals dating back to 1908. It also provides full text for more than 830 books and 14,000 conference papers. Subject indexing is based on a sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers.

Journals & Magazines

Tools for Finding Articles

Searching for an article?

Try the databases. Many have full-text articles.

Found a good article in a database and it's not full text?

Click on to see if St. Kate's has the article in another database or in print.

Have a citation and want to find the article?

Use LibSearch to search for the title of the article or the journal title.

For more assistance, contact a librarian.

LGBTQIA+ (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Intersex, Asexual) Studies

Librarian

General/Multi-disciplinary Databases

Subject-specific Databases

Journals & Magazines

Tools for Finding Articles

Looking for a Journal

Find Journals, Newspapers & Magazines by Title