Skip to Main Content

GSJ: Global Search for Justice

A research guide for students in GSJ which provides useful resources for the class and its assignments.

Search for Articles, Books, and More!

Databases

SocINDEX with Full Text
A comprehensive sociology database with strong coverage of social work, anthropology, and education.
A comprehensive social sciences research database with full text for more than 1,700 journals dating back to 1908. It also provides full text for more than 830 books and 14,000 conference papers. Subject indexing is based on a sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers.
PAIS Index
A finding aid to publications about public policy and social issues from 120 countries
Database chronicling global public policy and social issues. Indexes periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, Internet resources, and other publications from 120 countries. Coverage begins in 1915.
Encyclopedia of Social Work
A collection of articles and biographies that provide overviews of topics in the field of social work. Updated monthly, this resource is also useful for researching current trends in social work.
Independent Voices
A collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals that were produced by feminists, Native Americans, Black Power advocates, and many more groups in the latter half of the 20th century.

Minnesota Resources

2023 Wilder Research Minnesota Homeless Study
A point-in-time study aimed at better understanding the prevalence of homelessness in Minnesota, as well as the circumstances of those experiencing homelessness statewide.
Minnesota Coalition for the Homeless
The Minnesota Coalition for the Homeless (MCH) is a nonprofit 501(c)3 organization focused on improving public policy and using the power of advocacy to ensure statewide housing stability and economic security.
Minnesota Interagency Council on Homelessness - Resources & Data
Data regarding homelessness in Minnesota.
Minnesota Homeless Mortality Report, 2017-2021
A report for the Minnesota Department of Health Center of Excellence on Public Health and Homelessness
Prepared by the Health, Homelessness, & Criminal Justice Lab at Hennepin Healthcare Research Institute
Minnesota Department of Health: Center of excellence on public health and homelessness
A research hub with resources and relevant research regarding homelessness in Minnesota.

Websites

National Alliance to End Homelessness
The National Alliance to End Homelessness is a nonpartisan organization committed to preventing and ending homelessness in the United States.
Homelessness in America 2023: Statistics, Analysis, & Trends
Written by the Security.org team, this summary examines the overall scope of the homelessness issue, explores its geographical distribution, and identifies groups most at risk.
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development: Homelessness assistance
Homelessness assistance programs provide funding to states and local governments and nonprofit providers to serve individuals and families across the United States who are affected by homelessness.
National Center for Homeless Education
Data and statistics on education regarding homeless youth in America.
Institute for Children, Poverty, & Homelessness
ICPH is dedicated to bringing family and child homelessness into focus through research, policy briefs, and interactive data tools.
National Coalition for Homeless Veterans
NCHV is the only national organization solely focused on ending veteran homelessness.
StreetWise
StreetWise magazine is an award-winning weekly publication that features stories about homelessness, poverty, injustice, inequality and life in Chicago.

©2024 St. Catherine University Library, St. Paul, Minnesota, USA

Creative Commons License

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License