When searching for information regarding censorship, here are a few search terms and search strings you can use:
censorship
censorship AND ethics
censorship AND public libraries
book bans
banned books AND education
intellectual freedom
censorship AND access to information
Search for Articles, Books, and More!
Search for books, journals, articles, media & more
LibSearch Guide: For more help, including how to request items in LibSearch that are not at St. Kate's.
An index to library and information science publications with some full-text journal articles.
Indexing coverage begins in 1984; full text coverage begins in 1994. For retrospective indexing coverage beginning with 1921, please consult the printed volumes of Library Literature. in the St. Paul Campus Library.
A comprehensive resource for education and related fields, containing articles (scholarly, trade, and magazine), dissertations, and more.
ProQuest Education Database covers not only the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education but also special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics. Coverage begins in 1988.
Articles from scholarly journals in communication, mass media, and related fields.
This database offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 440 journals in communication and mass media, selective coverage of nearly 200 additional journals, and full text for more than 500 journals. Many of the more important journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable cited references from their first issues (dating as far back as 1915) to the present.
Special features include a Communication Thesaurus, searchable cited references for peer-reviewed journals, and profiles providing biographical and bibliographical data for of more than 3,000 authors in the field.
The database incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study.
For almost 50 years, NCAC has acted as a first responder to protect freedom of expression, which is both a fundamental human right and a keystone of democracy in the ever-changing American nation.
The ACLU continues to fight government abuse and to vigorously defend individual freedoms including speech and religion, a woman’s right to choose, the right to due process, citizens’ rights to privacy, and much more.
The Office for Intellectual Freedom is charged with implementing ALA policies concerning the concept of intellectual freedom as embodied in the Library Bill of Rights, the Association’s basic policy on free access to libraries and library materials.
