Research Guides: GSJ: Global Search for Justice: Dismantling Racism

Search for Articles, Books, and More!

Books and Ebooks

Encyclopedia of Race and Racism

How to Be an Antiracist

One Person, No Vote

America for Americans

Black Women's Portrayals on Reality Television

Multicultural America

Entries on ethnic and race relations.

Undocumented Immigrants in the United States

2 volumes.

The Politics of Voter Suppression

Encyclopedia of race and crime

Entries concerning discrimination in the criminal justice system

The Race Controversy in American Education

Stamped from the Beginning

Race and Gender in the Classroom

Understanding Mass Incarceration

Databases

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive sociology database with strong coverage of social work, anthropology, and education.
A comprehensive social sciences research database with full text for more than 1,700 journals dating back to 1908. It also provides full text for more than 830 books and 14,000 conference papers. Subject indexing is based on a sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
A finding aid to publications about public policy and social issues from 120 countries
Database chronicling global public policy and social issues. Indexes periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, Internet resources, and other publications from 120 countries. Coverage begins in 1915.

Primary Source Databases

African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 This link opens in a new window
A collection of more than 170 periodicals by and about African Americans published between 1825 and 1995.
Alternative Press Index Archive This link opens in a new window
A collection of journals, newspaper, and magazine articles with a focus on international alternative, radical, and left periodicals published from1969 through 1990.
American Indian History This link opens in a new window
A database with primary sources, videos, and images relating to more than 600 Native American groups.
Black Freedom Stuggle in the United States: A selection of Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
A primary source collection that contains important documents in African-American history, with the earliest from 1790.
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
A collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals that were produced by feminists, Native Americans, Black Power advocates, and many more groups in the latter half of the 20th century.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive This link opens in a new window
A collection of books, journals, and manuscripts devoted to the scholarly study of slavery from a multinational perspective.
Covers the transatlantic slave trade; the global movement for the abolition of slavery; the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system; and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions. Includes books, journals, manuscripts, supreme court records, and more.

Websites with Information on African American History

African American Intellectual History Society: Black Perspectives
Black Perspectives is the award-winning blog of the African American Intellectual History Society (AAIHS). As engaged scholars, we are deeply committed to producing and disseminating cutting-edge research that is accessible to the public and is oriented towards advancing the lives of people of African descent and humanity.
Mapping Prejudice
A project out of the University of Minnesota, this database and digital mapping illustrate the systemic racism of racial covenants that were written into housing deeds in Minneapolis.
National Archives - African American Heritage
A collection of primary sources related to African American history and social movements.
PBS: Slavery by Another Name
Slavery by Another Name gives voice to the largely forgotten victims and perpetrators of forced labor and features their descendants living today. Features primary sources, timelines and maps, and more.
Umbra Search
A searchable collection of African American history artifacts and digitized primary source material brought to you by the University of Minnnesota.

Websites with Information on Race and Criminal Justice

ACLU: American Civil Liberties Union
The Racial Justice Program aims to preserve and extend the constitutional rights of people of color. Committed to combating racism in all its forms, our advocacy includes litigation, community organizing and training, legislative initiatives, and public education.
Equal Justice Initiative
Reports from EJI which "is committed to ending mass incarceration and excessive punishment in the United States, to challenging racial and economic injustice, and to protecting basic human rights for the most vulnerable people in American society." Founded by Bryan Stevenson, author of Just Mercy.
Prison Policy Initiative
The non-profit, non-partisan Prison Policy Initiative produces cutting edge research to expose the broader harm of mass criminalization, and then sparks advocacy campaigns to create a more just society.

Websites with Information on Race and Healthcare

American Psychological Association
From the American Psychological Association, race through a psychological lens.
Healthcare Diversity Council
Under the umbrella of the National Diversity Council, the Healthcare Diversity Council works to advance cultural competency in healthcare, recruit diverse individuals to the healthcare profession, and, ultimately, improve the quality of care that our diverse communities need.
National Alaska Native American Indian Nurses Association
NANAINA is a committed group of persons from every corner of the country, dedicated to the health and well-being of the American Indian and Alaska Native people.

Environmental Racism

Environmental Health Coalition
Based in California, EHC is one of the oldest grass-roots environmental health organizations in the U.S. Check out the Fact Sheets under Publications.
EPA’s Toxic Release Inventory Program
The goal of the Toxics Release Inventory program is to provide communities with information about toxic chemical releases and waste management activities and to support informed decision making at all levels by industry, government, non-governmental organizations, and the public.
Dakota Access Pipeline Information
Information regarding the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe's stance on the Dakota Access Pipeline, which had it's application accepted by the U.S. Army Corps despite it violating the Fort Laramie Treaty and possibly contaminating the air and water on native land.

Additional Websites

The Antiracist Research & Policy Center (ARPC)
Directed by Ibram X. Kendi, the ARPC strives "strive to build an antiracist society of racial equity and justice" through research, education, and policy convenings.
Carlisle Indian School Digital Resource Center
Searchable database of resources that "seek to increase knowledge and understanding of the school and its complex legacy, while also facilitating efforts to tell the stories of the many thousands of students who were sent there."
The Centre for Fashion Diversity & Social Change - Ryerson University
The Centre for Fashion Diversity & Social Change (FDSC) unleashes fashion’s power to foster diversity, equity and inclusion, and lead social change through the creation and dissemination of alternative fashion objects and media.
Global Issues.org
Includes the following subsections: Racism in Europe, Racism in Australia, Racism in Africa, Racism in the Middle East, Racism in Asia, Racism in North America, The Lure of Adolph Hitler and neo-Nazism, Racism against Gypsies, Immigration, The Internet and Racism, Globalization and Racism.
National Congress of American Indians
The National Congress of American Indians, founded in 1944, is the oldest, largest and most representative American Indian and Alaska Native organization serving the broad interests of tribal governments and communities.
National Diversity Council
The National Diversity Council is the first non-profit organization to bring together the private, public and non-profit sectors to discuss the many dimensions and benefits of a multicultural environment.
Our Home on Native Land
(Read Disclaimer before proceeding to map)

GSJ: Global Search for Justice

Get Assistance

Contact a Librarian

Search for Articles, Books, and More!

Books and Ebooks

Encyclopedia of Race and Racism

How to Be an Antiracist

One Person, No Vote

America for Americans

Black Women's Portrayals on Reality Television

Multicultural America

Undocumented Immigrants in the United States

The Politics of Voter Suppression

Encyclopedia of race and crime

The Race Controversy in American Education

Stamped from the Beginning

Race and Gender in the Classroom

Understanding Mass Incarceration

Databases

Primary Source Databases

Websites with Information on African American History

Websites with Information on Race and Criminal Justice

Websites with Information on Race and Healthcare

Environmental Racism

Additional Websites