Skip to Main Content

Student Employment @ the St. Kate's Library

A guide to student employment at St. Kate's library.

Graduate Assistant, Archives and Special Collections Job Description

Working alongside the Head of Archives and Special Collections, the person in this position assists with collection maintenance tasks, digitization projects, and the provision of service to researchers.

  • 10-20 hours per week, depending upon availability (daytime hours during the week are required)
  • $14.75 per hour, plus sick leave
  • Must commit to the entire fall semester, with the possibility of extending to the end of the academic year
  • Position starts at the beginning of the semester.

Archives and Special Collections, located in the lower level of the Library, collects and preserves University documents and other materials of enduring value, making them available for institutional and research use.  The Archives are the institutional memory of the University, and include administrative and departmental records; university, student, and alumni publications; faculty writings; photographs; and artifacts.  The Special Collections reflect the University's traditions of women's leadership and Catholic social teaching, and include personal papers, correspondence, manuscripts, and other materials. Access to the Library’s rare book collections is provided through the Archives and Special Collections reading room.

Primary Responsibilities

  • Assist with collections processing and maintenance: accession new materials, sort and organize documents, prepare and maintain inventories of items, store material in acid-free folders and boxes, shift materials on shelves, enter data in collections management system (ArchivesSpace)
  • Digitize materials in the collections to make them available online as part of our Digital Collections: scan documents, photographs, or drawings; provide basic descriptive information 
  • Assist with service to faculty, staff, students, and other researchers, both in person and via phone or email: perform research using the collections, register visitors and explain policies and procedures to them, retrieve and re-shelve requested materials
  • Contribute to outreach efforts: curate displays of items from the collections; contribute social media posts to highlight the collections
  • Additional projects as assigned, depending on the needs of the Archives and the assistant’s skills and qualifications.

Required Qualifications

  • Currently enrolled in the MLIS program at St. Catherine University
  • Available primarily during the following hours: Monday through Friday between 9:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m.
  • Strong organizational skills; ability to follow through and complete extended projects
  • Attention to detail in assigned tasks, even when repetitive
  • Strong written and verbal communication skills
  • Ability to handle rare and fragile materials with care
  • Understanding of the requirements surrounding protected records and information
  • Ability to lift up to 30 pounds
  • Adaptability to changing needs and priorities as we reopen the archives post-pandemic

Preferred Qualifications

  • Prior or concurrent coursework in an archives-related area, or experience in an archives/special collection
  • Excellent computer skills; experience with Microsoft Office, Photoshop, Adobe Acrobat
  • Interest in working professionally in an archives, historical society, museum, or other cultural heritage institution

 

How to apply

You can either send application materials directly to the archivist or apply through KatieCareer/Handshake.

Apply Directly

Send an email to Amy Shaw with the following attachments:

  • Resume
  • Cover letter with brief answers to the following questions:
  1. Why are you interested in this graduate assistantship?
  2. What experience, qualities, and strengths would you bring to the assistantship?
  3. What goals would you like to accomplish as part of this assistantship?
  4. What days and times are you available to work, particularly during the Library's reference hours?
  • Unofficial transcript or grade report

Please put "Archives Assistant" in the email subject line. 

Apply Through Handshake (KatieCareer - student job portal)

Log into Handshake (see link below) with your St. Kate's credentials, and search for position #6807533. You will need to submit the same materials as listed above.

Individuals with a disability who believe they may need any reasonable accommodation should contact Student Accessibility & Accommodations at Accessibility@stkate.edu for an appointment.

Questions? Contact Amy Shaw at amshaw@stkate.edu.

©2024 St. Catherine University Library, St. Paul, Minnesota, USA

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License