Research Guides: Understanding the Current Conflict in the Middle East: News Resources & Avoiding Misinformation

An Overview of News Resources on the Conflict

Tumisu. (2024). Breaking news, Journalism, Press [Photograph]. Pixabay.

This section of the guide includes a variety of news resources, including articles, podcasts, and web resources. Whenever possible, we link to the English version of the resource. In many cases, these resources have more extensive content available in their Hebrew and/or Arabic versions. If you read those languages, we encourage you to use those interfaces.

News Coverage on the Conflict in the Middle East

AP News: Israel-Hamas War
From the Associated Press, one of the largest news networks in the world, an aggregated collection of articles, videos and maps that are updated frequently.
The Israel Hamas War, New York Times
The coverage includes the Hamas-led attack on Israel, the plight of hostages, how the war in Gaza has devastated the territory and left thousands dead and the flurry of international diplomacy to bring about a cease-fire.
Middle East Conflict, Washington Post
Resources include breaking news, live coverage, investigations, analysis, video, photos and opinion pieces.
PBS Frontline: Israeli-Palestinian Conflict
Multiple documentaries and reporting on the history and evolution of the Israeli-Palestinian conflict, the leaders who played key roles, and the ripple effects of the current war in Gaza.

Al Jazeera: Israel-Palestine Conflict
Al Jazeera Media Network is a private-media conglomerate headquartered at Wadi Al Sail, Doha, funded in part by the government of Qatar. On this site can be found live updates on the conflict in the Middle East, the war in maps and charts, and other news coverage.
+972 Magazine
An independent news magazine founded by Israeli and Palestinian journalists in 2010 that focuses on in-depth, and on the ground reporting and analysis in Israel-Palestine. The website takes its name from the international dialing code 972, which is shared by Israel and the Palestinian territories.
AL-Monitor
Al-Monitor, an independent news source in the Middle East, covers politics, security, culture, technology, economy and business in the Middle East. Read the latest news, analysis and podcasts on topics such as Iran, Turkey, Israel, Saudi Arabia, Jordan and more.

BBC News: Israel-Gaza War
From the British Broadcasting Corporation, an aggregated collection of articles and videos that are updated frequently on the Conflict in the Middle East.
Le Monde English: Israel Hamas War
Le Monde is a French daily afternoon newspaper. It has been available online since 1995, and it has a dedicated Middle East section and consistent coverage of the region.
Reuters: Israel and Hamas at War
From Reuters, one of the largest news agencies in the world, an aggregated collection of articles, videos and maps that are updated frequently.

The Jerusalem Post: Middle East
Israel's most-read English news website and best-selling English newspaper bringing breaking news, world news & Middle East news.
Ha'aretz
Haaretz is an Israeli newspaper that publishes a fairly diverse set of views representing different facets of the Israeli society. It was founded in 1918, making it the longest running newspaper currently in print in Israel. It is published in both Hebrew and English.
The Times of Israel
The Times of Israel is a news website that covers the latest developments in Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish world. Read breaking news, analysis, opinion, podcasts, videos and more on the ongoing Israel-Hamas war, the US peace plan, and other topics.

Ma'an News Agency
Ma'an News Agency is part of the Ma'an Network, a non-governmental organization media network created in 2002 in the Palestinian territories among independent journalists throughout the West Bank and Gaza Strip. MNA publishes news 24 hours a day in Arabic, Hebrew and English. MNA also publishes feature stories, analysis and opinion articles.
Palestine News Network
Palestine News Network (PNN) offers a range of media services that contribute to conveying the voice of civil institutions, their various programs, companies, and donors to the Palestinian society within the framework of their community development projects and raising awareness about various social issues.
WAFA Palestine Chronicle
WAFA is the official state-run news agency of the Palestinian National Authority (PNA). Wafa provides daily news from Palestinian territories, Israel and the Middle East, and is available in English, Arabic, French and Hebrew.

Get The Facts: Misinformation about the Israel, Hamas war (2 min.)

From Hearst Television in partnership with Factcheck.org (10/16/23)

Separating Fact from Fiction

Israel-Hamas War Media Literacy, News Literacy Project
An amalgamation of articles with resources for separating fact from fiction when it comes to the Israel-Hamas war, as well as examples of falsehoods that have gone viral and how to avoid being duped by them.
Why ‘All Eyes On Rafah’ went viral – and why you need to be careful when sharing AI images, The Conversation
This article elaborates on the way the "All Eyes on Rafah" AI-generated image propagated on social media, and the negative consequences that can ensue when individuals confuse fake media for real ones.
Algorithms, Misinformation, and the Arab-Israeli Conflict, Boston University School of Public Health
An article containing advice on how to navigate misinformation about the Arab-Israeli conflict and locate reliable information amidst the abundance of falsehoods.