Research Guides: Hmong Studies: Journals and Databases

Specific Journals

Hmong Studies Journal
A peer-reviewed publication devoted to the scholarly discussion of Hmong history, culture, people, and the Hmong experience around the world.
Melus
Journal of the Society for the Study of the Multi-Ethnic Literature of the United States (MELUS).
Journal of Cultural Diversity
Presents the distinct nature & health-care needs of the multi-cultural patient with original research.
Asian Folklore Studies
A peer-reviewed journal covering Asian folklore topics.
Ethnic and Racial Studies
A leading journal on the topic of analyzing the role of race, racism, ethnicity, and migration and forms of ethno-nationalism, presenting research in the fields of political science, sociology, anthropology, geography, cultural studies and more.
Journal of Multicultural Counseling and Development
Research, theory or program applications pertinent to multicultural and ethnic minority interest in all areas of counseling and human development.
Journal of Southeast Asian American Education and Advancement
An interdisciplinary journal providing a forum for scholars and writers from diverse fields who share a common interest in Southeast Asian (SEA) Americans and their communities. JSAAEA is an official publication of the National Association for the Education and Advancement of Cambodian, Laotian, and Vietnamese Americans (NAFEA), with support from the Department of Curriculum and Instruction and the College of Education at Purdue University. -Website
International Migration Review
The International Migration Review is a peer-reviewed quarterly journal on sociodemographic, economic, historical, political and legislative aspects of human migration and refugee movements.

Databases for Articles

Academic Search Premier
A multidisciplinary database that is a good starting point for many topics.

Covers 1975 to the present.
JSTOR

An archive of scholarly full-text journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

The JSTOR archive holds the complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals, starting with the very first issues, some dating as far back as the 1600s. Subject areas include the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

JSTOR includes various collections, and the St. Kate's Library has purchased the Arts and Sciences Collections I-VII and the Biological Sciences Collection. These collections include subsets for ecology & botany, language & literature, and music.

JSTOR's agreements with publishers often include a "moving wall," which means that the most recent years (typically 3-5 years) are not available.
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Full-page images of the New York Times from 1851-2021.
Historical Abstracts

A database that provides access to scholarly articles on world history

This resource excludes the history of United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life. Indexes and abstracts articles from more than 2,000 journals. Also includes book reviews and dissertations. Indexing coverage begins in 1954.

This database is produced by ABC-CLIO, but you access it through the EBSCO website.

Southeast Asia Theses and Dissertations, UC Berkeley
Bibliography of UC Berkley dissertations and theses relating to Southeast Asia from 1906-2009.

Other Databases

Cambodian Genocide Database
Housed at Yale University. Focuses on the Khmer Rouge regime of 1975 to 1979. Types of information available in this database are; bibliographic, biographic, photographic and geographic.
Voice of the Shuttle
A mega-site of links to Asian Pacific American resources.
SouthEast Asian Images & Texts
A useful resource for finding primary sources. Contains a wealth of images, as well as texts.

Organizations with Publications

Asian American Federation
A great resource for newer reports (all of which are available for free as PDFs) on the pan-Asian American community.
Hmong American Partnership
Large non-profit organization focused on "moving the refugee and immigrant community towards social and financial prosperity".
Southeast Asia Resource Action Center
This site houses a great resource center with lots of information. They focus mostly on Cambodian, Laotian and Vietnamese Americans.
Hmong National Development
A national policy advocacy group for the Hmong American community. They host the Hmong National Development Conference, which is held every other year. They have several published studies and books, and links to recent news articles.
Center for Migration Studies
An educational organization devoted to the study of international migration.
Association for Asian American Studies
Promotes teaching and research in Asian American Studies.