Research Guides: Digital Humanities: Scalar

Getting Started With Scalar

Scalar is a free, multi-modal publishing platform.

Use it to create multi-media rich eBooks, articles, & websites.

Profiles in Environment Justice
A compilation of student research in a course on Environmental Justice at Saint Catherine University in the spring of 2016, taught by John J. Anderson, PhD.
Reading the Bible with the Dead
Created by students of "Reading the Bible with the Dead" an integrative seminar taught by Elaine James, PhD (Theology) and Rachel Neiwert, PhD (History)
Scalar Showcase
A collection of projects created with Scalar curated by the Scalar team
Scalar Featured Books
Pathfinders
Sound and Documentary in Cardiff and Miller's Pandemonium
Complex TV
Performing Archive: Curtis + "the vanishing race"

Dashboard tabs and what you can do in them:

My account
- See a list all your books
- Create new/duplicate books
Book properties
- Add/change title & description
- Customize url
- Add table of contents
- Add background image for book
- Insert publication and rights information
Book users
- Invite collaborators
- Set permission levels
Sharing
- Make the eBook public
- Allow comments
- Allow duplication
Pages
- Navigate to pages (not where you edit pages)
- Make pages public
- Delete pages
Media
- A database of all the media you’ve uploaded/linked to
Relationships
- See your paths
- See your annotations
Import/export
- Import content from other scalar books (if permission was given)

Hipster Ipsum
Cupcake Ipsum
Fillerama
With placeholder text from shows like Futurama, Doctor Who, Dexter, and Monty Python.
Pirate Ipsum

Creative Commons Search
Search for Creative Commons licensed media
World Digital Library
The World Digital Library (WDL) is a project of the U.S. Library of Congress, carried out with the support of the United Nations Educational, Cultural and Scientific Organization (UNESCO), and in cooperation with libraries, archives, museums, educational institutions, and international organizations from around the world. The WDL makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from all countries and cultures.
Digital Public Library of Amerca
Europeana
Online collection of paintings, music, films and books from Europe's galleries, libraries, archives and museums.
Wikimedia Commons
A database of over 7 million freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute. Search for videos in the "Videos" category at the top of the page.
St. Kate's History Guide: Primary Sources
A list of website to find primary sources (documents, images, etc)
Links to copyright-free materials
Click here for a list of sources of copyright-free & openly available content.
Flickr Commons
The key goal of The Commons is to share hidden treasures from the world's public photography archives. The photos in this collection are public domain with no known copyright restrictions.

Suggestions For Using Scalar Metadata
Metadata field	Suggested use
Creator	Creator of the original media
Contributor	Publisher of the media
Date	Date media was created
Rights	Creative Commons license, Copyright statement, Public Domain
Source	Source of image (Wikimedia commons, YouTube, etc)
isPartof	Use for media that is part of a larger whole (ex. illustration from a book)

Need to go back and add metadata to an image you already added to Scalar? Use the image url to look up the original source via Google Image Search:

Stuck? Try looking up your question in the Scalar User Guide or feel free to contact me with your questions!