Research Guides: Masters of Arts in Interpreting Studies & Communication Equity (MAISCE): Home

Introduction to this Guide

Welcome to the research guide for the Masters of Arts in Interpreting Studies & Communication Equity (MAISCE) program! In this guide you will find links to resources that will aid you in each of your courses such as:

links to resources (databases, books, websites, etc) relevant to your program of study
tips & tutorials (research strategies, how you use google hangouts, etc)
information & services for distance/online students (online research & writing assistance, interlibrary loan, etc)

Click the tabs at the top to navigate to different sections of the guide.

Orientation Slides

MAISCE Orientation Slides Link

Research Strategies

For closed captioning please visit the video directly in YouTube by clicking the YouTube icon and clicking "CC"

ASL & Interpreting Databases

ASL/Interpreting is an interdisciplinary field so it is always a good idea to search a database that corresponds to the interpreting context (education, healthcare, social work, etc).

Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals in communication, mass media, and related fields.
This database offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 440 journals in communication and mass media, selective coverage of nearly 200 additional journals, and full text for more than 500 journals. Many of the more important journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable cited references from their first issues (dating as far back as 1915) to the present.

Special features include a Communication Thesaurus, searchable cited references for peer-reviewed journals, and profiles providing biographical and bibliographical data for of more than 3,000 authors in the field.

The database incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study.
Education Database - Proquest This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for education and related fields, containing articles (scholarly, trade, and magazine), dissertations, and more.
ProQuest Education Database covers not only the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education but also special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics. Coverage begins in 1988.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
A collection of scholarly articles for linguistics and language studies.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
An Internet search engine for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports.
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Our link to Google Scholar enables you to see which documents you can access through St. Kate's.

Helpful Links

Library Home Page
MAISCE Program
Tutoring and Learning Center
McGlynn Information Technology Help Desk
The Help Desk provides students, faculty and staff with a single point of contact for technology questions, requests and troubleshooting.
St. Kate's APA Citation Help

Masters of Arts in Interpreting Studies & Communication Equity (MAISCE)

Librarian

Research Assistance

Library FAQ search

Find us on social media!