Research Guides: Masters of Arts in Interpreting Studies & Communication Equity (MAISCE): Language Policy w/in Social/Political Structures

Databases

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly articles on linguistics & language studies topics
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly articles on communication studies topics
This database offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 440 journals in communication and mass media, selective coverage of nearly 200 additional journals, and full text for more than 500 journals. Many of the more important journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable cited references from their first issues (dating as far back as 1915) to the present.

Special features include a Communication Thesaurus, searchable cited references for peer-reviewed journals, and profiles providing biographical and bibliographical data for of more than 3,000 authors in the field.

The database incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly articles on the socio-cultural aspects of language
A comprehensive social sciences research database with full text for more than 1,700 journals dating back to 1908. It also provides full text for more than 830 books and 14,000 conference papers. Subject indexing is based on a sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
A search engine for scholarly articles. Search for scholarly articles or use the "cited by" feature to see who (and how many) have cited a particular article
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Our link to Google Scholar enables you to see which documents you can access through St. Kate's.

Course Texts Available Through the Library

Reframing Organizations: artistry, choice, and leadership by Lee G. Bolman; Terrence E. Deal
eBook: Read online or download chapters to save or print
Made to Hear: Cochlear implants and raising deaf children by Laura Mauldin
eBook: Read online or download chapters to save or print
Ableism: the Causes and Consequences of Disability Prejudice by Michelle R. Nario-Redmond
eBook: Read online or download chapters to save or print

Other Books

Language Policy and Planning for Sign Languages by Timothy G. Reagan
Print & eBook versions available
Blindspot : hidden biases of good people by Mahzarin R. Banaji; Anthony G. Greenwald
eBook: Read online or download chapters to save or print
Far from the Tree: parents, children and the search for identity by Andrew Solomon
Print book
Search Worldcat for a copy near you or request we mail you our copy
Uniformity and Diversity in Language Policy: global perspectives by Catrin Norrby (Editor); John Hajek (Editor)
eBook: Read online or download chapters to save or print
Dis/Ability Studies: theorising disablism and ableism by Dan Goodley
Print book
Search Worldcat for a copy near you or request we mail you our copy
Deaf Gain: Raising the stakes for human diversity by H-Dirksen L. Bauman (Editor); Joseph J. Murray (Editor); Tove Skutnabb-Kangas (Afterword by); Andrew Solomon (Foreword by)
eBook: Read online or download chapters to save or print
Deaf and Disability Studies: interdisciplinary perspectives by Susan Burch (Editor); Alison Kafer (Editor)
Print & eBook versions available
Handbook of Language and Communication: Diversity and Change by Marlis Hellinger (Editor); Anne Pauwels (Editor)
Print book
Search Worldcat for a copy near you or request we mail you our copy
It's a Small World: international deaf spaces and encounters by Michele Friedner (Editor); Annelies Kusters (Editor)
eBook: Read online or download chapters to save or print
The Demand Control Schema: interpreting as a practice profession by Robyn Dean & Robert Pollard
click the title (not the cover image) for a link to the St. Kate's copy
Print book
Search Worldcat for a copy near you or request we mail you our copy

Websites

Congress.gov
Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. Use this site to research legislative history.
more...less...
Use Thomas.gov for older information not available on Congress.gov (Congressional Records and bills from 1989-1995).
National Association of the Deaf
"The NAD is the nation's premier civil rights organization of, by and for deaf and hard of hearing individuals in the United States of America." (from the website)
StreetLeverage
"StreetLeverage spotlights practitioners & industry stakeholders rethinking how we understand, practice, & tell the story of the sign language interpreter." (from the website)
VIEWS: Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf
Professional (trade) magazine for Deaf interpreters
Disability Rights & Education Defense Fund
The Disability Rights Education and Defense Fund (DREDF), founded in 1979, is a leading national civil rights law and policy center directed by individuals with disabilities and parents who have children with disabilities.
National Consortium of Interpreter Education Centers (NCIEC)
The National Consortium of Interpreter Education Centers aims to expand and enhance the effectiveness of the interpreting workforce through education and professional development services and resources offered regionally and nationally.