Research Guides: Masters of Arts in Interpreting Studies & Communication Equity (MAISCE): Research Methods in Interpreting

Course Texts

Research Methods in Interpreting: A Practical Resource by Sandra Hale& Jemina Napier
eBook: Read online or download chapters to save or print
Advances in Interpreting Research by Brenda Nicodemus & Laurie Swabey (Editors)
eBook: Read online or download chapters to save or print
Action Research by Ernest T. Stringer
Print book
Search Worldcat for a copy near you or request we mail you our copy

Databases

Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly articles on communication studies topics
This database offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 440 journals in communication and mass media, selective coverage of nearly 200 additional journals, and full text for more than 500 journals. Many of the more important journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable cited references from their first issues (dating as far back as 1915) to the present.

Special features include a Communication Thesaurus, searchable cited references for peer-reviewed journals, and profiles providing biographical and bibliographical data for of more than 3,000 authors in the field.

The database incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly articles on linguistics & language studies topics
NTID Deaf Index This link opens in a new window
An index to articles and other information about interpreting, sign language, deaf studies, deaf history, and related topics. Produced by the National Technical Institute for the Deaf
Education Database - Proquest This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for education and related fields, containing articles (scholarly, trade, and magazine), dissertations, and more.
ProQuest Education Database covers not only the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education but also special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics. Coverage begins in 1988.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
A search engine for scholarly articles. Search for scholarly articles or use the "cited by" feature to see who (and how many) have cited a particular article.
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Our link to Google Scholar enables you to see which documents you can access through St. Kate's.

Not finding what you need in these databases? Don't hesitate to contact me if you need help with research strategies or reources!

~Amy Mars, ASL & Interpreting Librarian

anmars@stkate.edu

Websites

APA Resources from the St. Kate's Library
Citing & formatting help & sample papers
Tutoring and Learning Center
Get online writing help
Exploring Academic Integrity
This interactive, online tutorial will walk you through topics such as plagiarism, citing, & copyright/fair use. Brought to you by Claremont Colleges Library

Other books

Quantitative Research Methods in Translation and Interpreting Studies by Christopher D. Mellinger & Thomas A. Hanson
Print book. Request through interlibrary loan.
Signed Language Interpretation and Translation Research by Brenda Nicodemus; Keith Cagle
eBook: Read online or download chapters to save or print

Database Searching Pro Tips

Break your topic into its key concepts and use those words to search. 1-2 keywords is a good way to start
Try to use nouns, avoiding verbs such as “effect” or “cause” because they are not unique to most topics
Do not use terms such as: "the," "of," "with," "in," "by," "a," "an," "vs." because they will not help you pinpoint your search
To narrow your search, add additional terms with AND.
To broaden your search, brainstorm alternative words for the concepts you are searching for and combine them with OR.
Use quotation marks to search for words as exact phrases: Ex) “social media”
Use the asterix symbol (*) to search words with multiple endings: Ex) interpret* = interpreter, interpretation, interpreters, interpretations

Search Strategy Builder
Use this online tool to build a complex search string and then copy & paste it into database search boxes.

For closed captioning please visit the video directly in YouTube by clicking the YouTube icon and clicking "CC"

Reading Research Articles

For closed captioning please visit the video directly in YouTube by clicking the YouTube icon and clicking "CC"

Following the Scholarly Conversation

Once you begin to find sources on your topic, try tracing the conversation around them. Here’s how:

Backward: Look in the reference list/footnotes for additional sources. Once you find one:

1). Determine what type of source it is (book, article, book chapter, etc)

2). See if this source is available through the St. Kate’s library or free on the Internet:

If it is a book or book chapter, check St. Kate’s Library LibSearch (on library homepage)
If it is a journal article, check Google Scholar (access through the library website for access to our subscriptions)

Forward: Click "cited by" to explore connections between scholarship and trace an article or book's impact by looking at who cited it in their own research:

For closed captioning please visit the video directly in YouTube by clicking the YouTube icon and clicking "CC"

Literature Review

Literature Review Matrix
Copy this spreadsheet into your drive and use it to keep track of the sources you come across and how they relate to each other

For closed captioning please visit the video directly in YouTube by clicking the YouTube icon and clicking "CC"

Researching & Writing a Literature Review
Created by the University of Minnesota Libraries. Though the links are UofMN-specific, this is a good introduction to researching & writing a literature review.