Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Persistent Links

Permalinks, how to use them, and where to find them when using various databases.

Determining your database platform

Many databases share a similar interface or appear exactly alike even though they contain completely different kinds of resources. For example, EBSCO is one of the most common forms of academic resources used by students, but has many different databases that share its platform: Academic Search Premier, CINAHL, and SocIndex are just a few. Before you can use this guide to help you find the permalink to an article, you will need to know what platform is hosting your database.

Which is Which?

To determine which platform you are using for research, follow these steps.

1. Navigate to your desired database from the library website.

2. On the main page of the database, locate the name that you saw in the link from the library website. This is the name of the database - not the platform. If a librarian or professor asks, "where were you doing your research?"  you can tell them the name of the database.

3. Locate the platform name, also on the main page of the database. This is the name you will find listed on a tab in this guide to find step-by-step instructions for saving persistent links to the sources you want to save for later. The platform name may appear in the upper corner of the page, or it might be the biggest name right in the middle.

Examples of platform names

  • EBSCO/EBSCOhost
  • ProQuest
  • GALE
  • SAGE
  • JSTOR
  • CREDO
  • NexisUni

See the tabs on this guide for other platform names to look for. 

©2014 St. Catherine University Library, St. Paul, Minnesota, USA