Research Guides: Nursing: Articles and Databases

Databases

Nursing Databases
Get Full-text Articles

AccessMedicine
A collection of core medical textbooks and clinical support books, as well as multi-media resources, case histories and self-assessment modules.
CINAHL Ultimate
The primary database for nursing and alied health research with access to journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations.
CINAHL indexes all major nursing periodicals published in English, as well as selected periodicals for health education, laboratory technology, occupational therapy, physical therapy and rehabilitation, radiology, respiratory therapy and social services in health care. Provides the full text of more than 1,300 journals, some with PDF backfiles to 1937. Indexing began in 1982.
Cochrane Library
A collection of evidence based healthcare databases useful for locating high quality systematic reviews and other evidence to support health care decision-making.
MEDLINE via PubMed
Uses the National Library of Medicine's search system to access MEDLINE, a primary database for journal articles in medicine, nursing, physical and occupational therapy, public health, health care administration, and more.
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's bibliographic covering all fields of medicine and medical research. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,300 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. Coverage through PubMed begins in 1879.
MEDLINE via EBSCO
A primary database for journal articles in medicine, nursing, physical and occupational therapy, public health, health care administration, and more. Uses the EBSCO search system to access MEDLINE.
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's bibliographic covering all fields of medicine and medical research. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,300 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. Coverage through EBSCO begins with 1950.
Nursing & Allied Health Premium
A database for nursing and allied health research and curriculum support that includes scholarly literature, clinical training videos, reference materials, and evidence-based resources.
PsycInfo & PsycArticles
A primary psychology research database from the American Psychological Association. Also covers psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, sociology, education, social work, sports, business, and political science.
UpToDate
A comprehensive point of care resource that provides information on pathophysiology, clinical conditions, and medications, including the LexiComp Drug Interactions tool.

To get UpToDate Mobile for your iOS, Android, or Windows device, log in to UpToDate using your University login. Then, register for a My Account with UpToDate. Once you've registered, you'll be sent instructions for getting the mobile app from your device's app store.

UpToDate requires you renew your account every 90 days to retain mobile access. To renew your access, do the following:

Go to the https://libguides.stkate.edu/UpToDate. If prompted, login with your St. Catherine University username and password.
Once you are on the UpToDate homepage, look to the upper right corner of the screen. If you see St. Catherine University User, click on Log out.
Click on Log In.
Login with your UpToDate username/password that you used to register.

PLEASE NOTE: you do not have to physically be on campus to do this. You can renew on a laptop, tablet, phone - anything with a web browser.

Get Full Text

In most library databases, the purple Find it! Find it at St. Kate’s link or button will connect to LibSearch, the library catalog and display options for full text (under View Online) and interlibrary loan (under Get It) if no full text is available.