From anemia to zoonosis, a lengthy resource collection of global health topics and controversies.
Global Health Data/Statistics
World Health Organization
The World Health Organization (WHO) is the agency of the United Nations responsible for international public health. WHO collects and publishes a wide range of data used to monitor health trends worldwide.
The Global Health Observatory provides access to WHO's health-related statistics for its 194 member countries. It provides access to over hundreds of indicators on health topics including mortality and burden of diseases, the Millennium Development Goals, non communicable diseases and risk factors, health systems, environmental health, violence and injuries, etc. You can explore by health indicator or browse by country.
WHO's annual publication, providing access to the most recent health statistics of its member countries, including charts, tables, and figures relating to life expectancy, morality/morbidity, infectious diseases, health services, risk factors, health systems, health systems, health expenditures, health inequities, and demographic/socioeconomic statistics.
United Nations
The United Nations is the intergovernmental organization aiming to maintain international peace and security, including work with international public health through the World Health Organization.
This site provides official data, definitions, methodologies and sources for more than 60 indicators to measure progress towards the Millennium Development Goals, with data available at the country level.
USAID
The United States Agency for International Development (USAID) administers foreign aid and development assistance, with global health efforts focused around child/maternal mortality, HIV/AIDS, and infectious disease prevention.
Funded by USAID, the DHS Program collects and disseminates data on population, health, HIV, and nutrition through more than 400 surveys in over 90 countries.
UNICEF
UNICEF is the United Nations agency responsible for providing humanitarian and developmental aid to children worldwide. Data is collected through surveys of children and women around the world.
UNICEF’s Data & Analytics collects, collection, validation, analysis, use and communication of the most statistically sound, internationally comparable data on the situation of children and women around the world.
The World Bank
The World Bank is an international financial institution that provides loans and grants to the governments of low- and middle-income countries with the aim of reducing poverty, increasing shared prosperity, and promoting sustainable development.
HealthStats is the World Bank’s portal to its comprehensive collection of Health, Nutrition and Population (HNP) statistics. It includes over 250 indicators on topics such as health financing and the health workforce; immunization and the incidence of HIV and AIDS, malaria and tuberculosis, non-communicable diseases and the causes of death; nutrition, clean water and sanitation, and reproductive health; as well as population estimates and population projection.
Department/Ministry of Health for Specific Countries
For some health data/statistics, you may need to consult the Department of Health/Ministry of Health for the specific country of interest. Some information may not be available in English.
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, flags, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. Also good source for maps, including: maps of the major world regions, Physical Map of the World, Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
Include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty.
