Skip to Main Content

Clinical Education

A guide with useful resources relating to clinical education.

Articles and Ebooks

Databases & Scholarly Articles

PubMed

PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature.  The PubMed database contains more than 32 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. It does not include full text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources, such as the publisher's website or PubMed Central (PMC).

Electronic Library of Minnesota

  • Minnesota residents have access to these excellent databases:
    • Academic Search Premier: Thousands of scholarly publications across all academic disciplines (includes the full text of major medical journals such as JAMA & NEJM).
    • Alt Health Watch: International journals covering complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.

    • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition: Scholarly and professional publications across all medical disciplines including strong coverage of nursing and allied health.

    • Consumer Health Complete: Popular and professionally written information for patients and consumers covering all health-related topics from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) 

DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. Search by journal or article(s).

E-Books

Electronic Library of Minnesota

  • Searching Tips:  Use keywords in the search box.  From the results page, use the filters on the left to limit results to books.

National Academies Press 

Publishes reports by the National Academy of Sciences on science and science policy. Topics include agriculture, biology, computers, energy, the environment, engineering, food, medicine and health, space, social sciences, transportation, and more.

NCBI Bookshelf

Provides free access to books and documents in medicine and the life sciences.

Open Textbook Library

Open textbooks are licensed by authors and publishers to be freely used and adapted. Download, edit and distribute them at no cost. The Open Textbook Library is supported by the Open Education Network.

©2024 St. Catherine University Library, St. Paul, Minnesota, USA

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License