Communication Studies

This database offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 440 journals in communication and mass media, selective coverage of nearly 200 additional journals, and full text for more than 500 journals. Many of the more important journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable cited references from their first issues (dating as far back as 1915) to the present. 

Special features include a Communication Thesaurus, searchable cited references for peer-reviewed journals, and profiles providing biographical and bibliographical data for of more than 3,000 authors in the field. 

The database incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study.

Coverage begins in 1923.

The JSTOR archive holds the complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals, starting with the very first issues, some dating as far back as the 1600s. Subject areas include the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

JSTOR includes various collections, and the St. Kate's Library has purchased the Arts and Sciences Collections I-VII and the Biological Sciences Collection. These collections include subsets for ecology & botany, language & literature, and music. 

JSTOR's agreements with publishers often include a "moving wall," which means that the most recent years (typically 3-5 years) are not available.

Covers 1975 to the present.