Research Guides: Indigenous Justice: U.S.-Dakota War of 1862

U.S.- Dakota War of 1862 Resources

The US-Dakota War of 1862
from the Minnesota Historical Society
US-Dakota War of 1862
from the University of Minnesota Holocaust and Genocide Studies program.
U.S.-Dakota War of 1862
Primary and secondary sources from the Gale Family Library. Minnesota Historical Society
Dakota Conflict Trials (1862)
Resources compiled by Prof. Douglas O. Linder, University of Missouri-Kansas City
Dakota Uprooted: Capitalism, Resilience, and the U.S.-Dakota War
From Activist History Review

Books about the Dakota @ St. Kate's

Related Resources

Bdote Memory Map
The intent of the Memory Map portion of the City Indians installation was to express the historic and continued connection of Dakota people to places familiar to citizens and visitors of the area.
Why Treaties Matter
Why Treaties Matter project is a collaboration of the Minnesota Humanities Center, the Minnesota Indian Affairs Council, and the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of the American Indian.
Land-grab Universities
From High Country News, Mar. 20, 2020
TRUTH: Towards Recognition and University-Tribal Healing Project
The TRUTH Project is a collaborative effort between the Minnesota Indian Affairs Council (MIAC) and the University of Minnesota. It is a response to the 2020 resolutions by the MIAC calling on the University of Minnesota to be better relatives to the 11 Tribal Nations.
Minnesota Native American Essential Understandings for Educators
A publication project of the Shakopee Mdewakanton Sioux community's Understand Native Minnesota campaign and Native Governance Center.
Understand Native MN
A multifaceted strategic initiative and philanthropic campaign focused on Native American narrative change in Minnesota’s schools.

Citing Indigenous Knowledge in APA

Citing Indigenous Elders and Knowledge Keepers

The U.S. - Dakota Conflict: The Past Is Alive Within Us

PBS documentary that examines the state’s involvement in the Dakota War as the Civil War was simultaneously raging.

News

MPR Native News
Stay informed with the latest news about local and national Native American communities, highlighting stories and issues important to Native American communities in Minnesota and beyond.
Minnesota Native News
Minnesota Native News is a weekly radio segment covering ideas and events relevant to Minnesota’s Native American communities since 2014.

Search Terms

Dakota War of 1862
Dakota conflict
Sioux uprising
Fort Snelling concentration camp
Little Crow's war

Find Articles

America: History & Life

Scholarly articles on U.S. and Canadian History.

A complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. It indexes and abstracts more than 2,000 journals published worldwide. Book reviews, media reviews, and disserations are also indexed. Indexing began in 1954. This database is produced by ABC-CLIO, but you access it through EBSCO.
JSTOR

An archive of scholarly full-text journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

The JSTOR archive holds the complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals, starting with the very first issues, some dating as far back as the 1600s. Subject areas include the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

JSTOR includes various collections, and the St. Kate's Library has purchased the Arts and Sciences Collections I-VII and the Biological Sciences Collection. These collections include subsets for ecology & botany, language & literature, and music.

JSTOR's agreements with publishers often include a "moving wall," which means that the most recent years (typically 3-5 years) are not available.
Google Scholar

An Internet search engine for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports.

Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Our link to Google Scholar enables you to see which documents you can access through St. Kate's.
Education Database - Proquest

A comprehensive resource for education and related fields, containing articles (scholarly, trade, and magazine), dissertations, and more.

ProQuest Education Database covers not only the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education but also special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics. Coverage begins in 1988.
Academic Search Premier
A multidisciplinary database that is a good starting point for many topics.

Covers 1975 to the present.

Suggestions Welcome!

Is there a resource that you think should be included in this guide or in our library collections? Have a comment about this guide? Let us know via email: library@stkate.edu.