Research Guides: Occupational Therapy: Articles and Databases

Articles and Databases

OT Databases
More OT Databases

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
The primary database for nursing and alied health research with access to journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations.
CINAHL indexes all major nursing periodicals published in English, as well as selected periodicals for health education, laboratory technology, occupational therapy, physical therapy and rehabilitation, radiology, respiratory therapy and social services in health care. Provides the full text of more than 1,300 journals, some with PDF backfiles to 1937. Indexing began in 1982.
MEDLINE via PubMed This link opens in a new window
Uses the National Library of Medicine's search system to access MEDLINE, a primary database for journal articles in medicine, nursing, physical and occupational therapy, public health, health care administration, and more.
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's bibliographic covering all fields of medicine and medical research. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,300 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. Coverage through PubMed begins in 1879.
MEDLINE via EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Uses the Ebsco search system to access MEDLINE, a primary database for journal articles in medicine, nursing, physical and occupational therapy, public health, health care administration, and more.
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's bibliographic covering all fields of medicine and medical research. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,300 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. Coverage through EBSCO begins with 1950.
PsycInfo & PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
A primary psychology research database from the American Psychological Association. Also covers psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, sociology, education, social work, sports, business, and political science.

CINAHL Database Search Help
Handouts, guides, and videos to help search CINAHL efficiently.
Medline/PubMed Search Help
Handouts, guides and tutorials for searching Medline/PubMed efficiently.

Education Database - Proquest This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for education and related fields, containing articles (scholarly, trade, and magazine), dissertations, and more.
ProQuest Education Database covers not only the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education but also special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics. Coverage begins in 1988.

OTSeeker
OTseeker is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions.
more...less...
Developed and maintained with generous funding from OT-Australia and the Motor Accidents Authority of New South Wales, and with infrastructure support from the University of Queensland and University of Western Sydney.

PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window
A finding aid to the published literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health consequences of exposure to traumatic events, with coverage from 1871 to the present.
A finding aid to the published literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health consequences of exposure to traumatic events, with coverage from 1871 to the present.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
An index to journals in social work and related fields
Covers topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization, and more. This database is produced by the National Association of Social Workers. Coverage begins in 1977.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive point of care resource that provides information on pathophysiology, clinical conditions, and medications, including the LexiComp Drug Interactions tool.

To get UpToDate Mobile for your iOS, Android, or Windows device, log in to UpToDate using your University login. Then, register for a My Account with UpToDate. Once you've registered, you'll be sent instructions for getting the mobile app from your device's app store.

UpToDate requires you renew your account every 90 days to retain mobile access. To renew your access, do the following:

Go to the https://libguides.stkate.edu/UpToDate. If prompted, login with your St. Catherine University username and password.
Once you are on the UpToDate homepage, look to the upper right corner of the screen. If you see St. Catherine University User, click on Log out.
Click on Log In.
Login with your UpToDate username/password that you used to register.

PLEASE NOTE: you do not have to physically be on campus to do this. You can renew on a laptop, tablet, phone - anything with a web browser.