Research Guides: Political Science Research Guide: Politics of Global Cities

What are you researching?

Take a few moments to add your research topic or question to this Google sheet.

(Answers are not binding - if your research topic changes as the semester progresses, that's fine!)

Database Suggestions

PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
A finding aid to publications about public policy and social issues from 120 countries
Database chronicling global public policy and social issues. Indexes periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, Internet resources, and other publications from 120 countries. Coverage begins in 1915.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive sociology database with strong coverage of social work, anthropology, and education.
A comprehensive social sciences research database with full text for more than 1,700 journals dating back to 1908. It also provides full text for more than 830 books and 14,000 conference papers. Subject indexing is based on a sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of scholarly full-text journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
The JSTOR archive holds the complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals, starting with the very first issues, some dating as far back as the 1600s. Subject areas include the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

JSTOR includes various collections, and the St. Kate's Library has purchased the Arts and Sciences Collections I-VII and the Biological Sciences Collection. These collections include subsets for ecology & botany, language & literature, and music.

JSTOR's agreements with publishers often include a "moving wall," which means that the most recent years (typically 3-5 years) are not available.
U.S. Newsstream - Proquest This link opens in a new window
Recent U.S. full-text articles from major national papers such as the New York Times, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, and Los Angeles Times (from 1980 to present).

Data - Government, Census, & Then Some

Data.Census.gov
(Data that was previously found on American Factfinder) This new database from the US Census Bureau is used to find population, housing, and business statistics including population, housing, race, economics, and social characteristics. summaries, and the economic census.
Data.gov
Site for the US Government's open data. Houses federal, state and local government data and documents.
Google Dataset Search (Beta)
Dataset Search enables users to find datasets stored across thousands of repositories on the Web. Dataset Search is currently in Beta, with the greatest coverage in environmental and social sciences, as well as government data.

Think Tanks, Organizations, & Alliances

Population Reference Bureau
Contains data on 136 population, environmental, and health variables for over 220 countries worldwide including education, reproductive, and regional statistics. United States data are also searchable.
Metropolitan Policy Program
Research program of the Brookings Institute that explores just and sustainable economic growth in urban areas.
C40 Cities
Alliance of cities around the world working towards climate action.
MIT Urban Planning Labs & Centers
Highlights completed and in-process projects out of the MIT Department of Urban Studies & Planning