Research Guides: Social Work Research Guide: Find Articles

Core Social Work Databases

Social Work Abstracts
An index to journals in social work and related fields
Covers topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization, and more. This database is produced by the National Association of Social Workers. Coverage begins in 1977.
SocINDEX with Full Text
A comprehensive sociology database with strong coverage of social work, anthropology, and education.
A comprehensive social sciences research database with full text for more than 1,700 journals dating back to 1908. It also provides full text for more than 830 books and 14,000 conference papers. Subject indexing is based on a sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers.
PsycInfo & PsycArticles
A primary psychology research database from the American Psychological Association. Also covers psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, sociology, education, social work, sports, business, and political science.
Psychiatry Online
An online library of books and journals related to psychiatry, mental health and behavioral science from the American Psychiatric Association. Includes the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR).
DSM-5-TR
The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR), is a standard reference for clinical practice in mental health, providing a classification of mental disorders to facilitate diagnosis.

Encyclopedia of Social Work

Encyclopedia of Social Work
Provide overviews of topics in the field of social work; also useful for researching current trends in social work. If you can't access it, try again later as it's a single person license.

Other Relevant Databases

Google Scholar
An Internet search engine for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports.
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Our link to Google Scholar enables you to see which documents you can access through St. Kate's.
CINAHL Ultimate
The primary database for nursing and alied health research with access to journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations.
CINAHL indexes all major nursing periodicals published in English, as well as selected periodicals for health education, laboratory technology, occupational therapy, physical therapy and rehabilitation, radiology, respiratory therapy and social services in health care. Provides the full text of more than 1,300 journals, some with PDF backfiles to 1937. Indexing began in 1982.
PubMed
Uses the National Library of Medicine's search system to access MEDLINE, a primary database for journal articles in medicine, nursing, physical and occupational therapy, public health, health care administration, and more.
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's bibliographic covering all fields of medicine and medical research. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,300 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. Coverage through PubMed begins in 1879.
Education Database - Proquest
A comprehensive resource for education and related fields, containing articles (scholarly, trade, and magazine), dissertations, and more.
ProQuest Education Database covers not only the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education but also special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics. Coverage begins in 1988.
PTSDpubs
A finding aid to the published literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health consequences of exposure to traumatic events, with coverage from 1871 to the present.
A finding aid to the published literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health consequences of exposure to traumatic events, with coverage from 1871 to the present.
PolicyMap
An online tool for mapping and analyzing data from the US, including demographics, housing, income, crime, health, jobs and more. Data can be used to create interactive maps and customized reports.

Introduction to the new EBSCOhost - tutorial (3:39 min.)

Watch this tutorial to learn the EBSCO basics (Social Work Abstracts and SocINDEX are EBSCO databases). Click on the CC button in in the video to see the closed captions.

Social Work Research Guide

Newspaper and Magazine Databases

Social Work Librarian

Core Social Work Databases

Encyclopedia of Social Work

Other Relevant Databases

Introduction to the new EBSCOhost - tutorial (3:39 min.)

The Anatomy of a Scholarly Journal Article