Research Guides: Sociology Research Guide: Background Information

Background information

Dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks are good starting points for research!

These sources can help you:

get an authoritative overview of your topic
find brief, factual info and definitions to supplement other sources
develop ideas to help narrow a topic or begin your research
get familiar with terms and concepts used in this field

These sources are either online or in the Library's Reference Area.

Ask a Librarian if you need help finding background sources!

Reference Books

Find Reference Books in the reference section of the St. Paul or Minneapolis libraries or in online reference e-books. These books cannot be checked out.

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology by George Ritzer, ed.
Call Number: St. Paul Reference HM 425 .B53 (2007)
11 vols.
Encyclopedia of Social Theory by George Ritzer, ed.
Call Number: St. Paul Reference HM 425 .E42 (2005)
Two vols.
Key Sociological Thinkers, 2nd ed. by Rob Stones, ed.
Call Number: St. Paul Reference HM 51 .K43 (2008)
Encyclopedia of American Social Movements by Immanuel Ness, ed.
Call Number: St. Paul Reference HN 57 .E594 (2004)
4 vols.
Encyclopedia of Human Development by Neil J. Salkind, ed.
3 vols.
Encyclopedia of Activism & Social Justice by Anderson & Herr, eds.
Online
Encyclopedia of Environment & Society by Paul Robbins, ed.
Call Number: St. Paul Reference HM 856 .E53 (2007)
5 vols.
Class in America : An Encyclopedia by Robert E. Weir, ed.
Call Number: St. Paul Reference HM 90 .S6 C564 (2007)
3 vols.
Social Issues in America by James Ciment, ed.
Call Number: St .Paul Reference HN 57 .S624 (2008)
8 vols.
The Impact of Globalization on the United States by Beverly Crawford, ed.
Call Number: St. Paul Reference HN 90 .G56 I56 (2008)
3 vols.
Encyclopedia of Sex & Gender by Fedwa
Call Number: St. Paul Reference HQ 16 .E52 (2007)
4 vols.
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Love, Courtship, and Sexuality Through History by James W. Howell, ed.
Call Number: St. Paul Reference HQ 21 .G67 125 (2008)
6 vols.