Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Streaming Media

Streaming Media Guide

Welcome to Streaming Media!

Video projectorSt. Kate's Library supports streaming on campus through subscription databases and licensing individual films. This guide provides information about streaming media that can be used in the classroom or for personal viewing. If you have any questions, please reach out to Trisha Burr - taburr474@stkate.edu or contact your subject librarian.

Also - take a look at our curated "Independent Film Collection" below which contains hard to find documentaries that have been purchased by the library. 

Photo by Alex Litvin on Unsplash

Independent Film Collection

Streaming Databases

Use LibSearch to find films that are available at St. Kate's Library:

 

 

The library provides streaming videos through the databases listed below. These films can be used in the classroom and for personal viewing. However, Kanopy and Swank are mediated and the films need to be licensed by the library. Please use this request form if you'd like the library to license a film on either of these platforms.

Requesting Classroom Media

Video projector

Photo by Possessed Photography on Unsplash


If you would like to request a streaming film for a class, please use our Streaming Film Request Form.

The library is able to purchase institutional access to films through Kanopy and Swank. We also subscribe to the streaming platforms, Films on Demand and Academic Video Online (AVON). All of the library's streaming platforms are listed under "streaming media" on our A-Z database page.

  • Films on these platforms can be screened in the classroom. Additionally, many of these films have Public Performance Rights (PPR) which means they can be used for on-campus events that do not charge admission.
  • If you have any questions please contact taburr474@stkate.edu or reach out to your subject liaison. 

The library is not able to purchase films for institutional use from individual streaming vendors like Netflix, Amazon Prime or Hulu.

  • Generally, the terms of use for these products specify that the account is only "for your personal and non-commercial use;” they do not grant rights for institutional or educational use.
  • For these streaming services, licenses overrule copyright exemptions. Showing your personal DVD during class is covered by a specific copyright exemption (Section 110), and showing clips can be covered by fair use (Section 107). However, there is no copyright exemption for streaming of these same films. 

A little bit more about streaming -- films that the library purchases through Kanopy or Swank will only be available for 1 year or 3 years. Some companies like Docuseek or Good Docs will offer perpetual access rights but not always. Please see our "Independent Films Collection" above for titles that we own. Unfortunately the library can't guarantee ongoing access to many of our streaming films.

Personal Streaming Services through St. Kate's

Students living on campus have access to a variety of streaming services using their St. Kate's login. Note: some streaming features may only work on campus, or with an Xfinity cable box provided to students in dorms or apartments. These instructions are also available through ServiceNow. Due to copyright laws, these services cannot be used in classrooms, only for personal use. Materials for use in the classroom can be found in the "Classroom Streaming" box below.

Xfinity

  1. Go to Xfinity On Campus and type in St. Catherine University into the search bar. 
  2. Log in with your St. Kate’s username and password. 
  3. You will be given the option to Watch Now or My DVR. Since this will be your first time logging in, there will be nothing in My DVR. Select Watch Now to being exploring the viewing options in XFINITY On Campus.  
  4. Once the device is added, it will prompt you to name the device.

Note: Live TV is only accessible on campus within the stkate-personal network. 

Peacock Premium

  1. Create a free account at Peacock TV.
  2. Use the dropdown at the top right of the screen to access your account.
  3. Navigate to the "Link Provider" section and click the Xfinity button.\
  4. Sign in with your Xfinity ID to link your accounts.

HBO Max

  1. Go to the HBO sign in page.
  2. Click on Sign In With a Provider. 
  3. Select XFINITY as the TV provider.
  4. This will bring you to a sign in page. Navigate to where it says XFINITY On Campus, and select St. Catherine University from the drop down menu. 
  5. Log in with your St. Kate's username and password. 
  6. You will be prompted to register your account and create a username. 

Note:  As of July 30th, 2020, HBO Go is no longer available on Roku and Amazon Fire Devices.  

©2022 St. Catherine University Library, St. Paul, Minnesota, USA

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License