Research Guides: Art and Art History Research Guide: Articles

Librarian

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Library, CdC 115

Subjects: Art & Art History, Citation, Communication Studies, Core, Critical Studies in Race & Ethnicity, Economics, Family & Consumer Science, GSJ, International Relations, Law, Political Science, Research, Sociology, TRW, Women's Studies

Art Databases

Art Full Text
Indexes art publications from around the world, including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Includes Art Index Retrospective, providing indexing back to 1929.

Art Full Text indexes more than 400 leading art publications from around the world, including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, and provides the full text for more than 100 periodicals. This database covers topics such as art history, archaeology, architecture, crafts, film, folk art, graphic arts, industrial design, interior design, landscape architecture, museology, painting, photography, sculpture, and textiles. The databases also index reproductions of works of art that appear anywhere in the indexed publications. Full text coverage begins in 1997.
Artstor on JSTOR

A digital library of more than 1 million of images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences

Found a good article in a database and it's not full text?

Click on to see if St. Kate's has the article in another database or in print.

Art Journals

Artforum International
"An international contemporary art magazine covering sculpture, painting, mixed media, and installation works, as well as architecture, music, and popular culture. Includes artist interviews and reviews of individual artists and/or galleries; reviews of film, books, and music; and an international arts calendar. For collectors and curators of contemporary art and general audiences with an interest in art."
Art Journal Open (AJO)
"Open-access digital journal for the visual arts, which presents artists’ projects, conversations and interviews, scholarly essays, and other forms of content from across the cultural field... Contributions focus on post-1945 material, with an emphasis on the contemporary."
The Brooklyn Rail
"Independent forum for arts, culture, and politics throughout New York City and far beyond [that] covers contemporary visual art in particular depth." Includes searchable archive.
International Journal for Digital Art History
"Seeks to gather current developments in the field of digital art history world-wide and to foster discourse on the subject both from art history and information science."
OpenBibArt
"Reviews the literature on arts from Late Antiquity to the present day, providing access to close to 1.2 million of bibliographic records of periodicals, books, exhibition and auction catalogues, published between 1910 and 2007."
Oxford Art Journal
"Committed to the political analysis of visual art and material representation from a variety of theoretical perspectives"
Woman's Art Journal
"Forum for feminist approaches to women artists from various art historical periods to the present."

Art - More databases to try

Academic Search Premier
A multidisciplinary database that is a good starting point for many topics.

Covers 1975 to the present.
Bloomsbury Fashion Central

The Berg Fashion Library contains the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, reference works, ebooks, images, and museum exhibitions.
JSTOR

An archive of scholarly full-text journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

The JSTOR archive holds the complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals, starting with the very first issues, some dating as far back as the 1600s. Subject areas include the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

JSTOR includes various collections, and the St. Kate's Library has purchased the Arts and Sciences Collections I-VII and the Biological Sciences Collection. These collections include subsets for ecology & botany, language & literature, and music.

JSTOR's agreements with publishers often include a "moving wall," which means that the most recent years (typically 3-5 years) are not available.