Research Guides: Art and Art History Research Guide: Getting Started

Librarian

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Library, CdC 115

Subjects: Art & Art History, Critical Studies in Race & Ethnicity, Economics, Family & Consumer Science, International Relations, Law, Organizational Leadership, Political Science, Sociology, TRW

Find us on social media!

Welcome to Art and Art History

This guide provides an overview of tools and strategies for finding resources to support your studies in art and art history.

Art & Art History Textbooks at the Library

Some of your required course textbooks might be available through the library! Our Textbook Collection attempts to include at least one copy of any required textbook in either print or electronic format. Electronic books (Ebooks) will be accessible with a St. Kate’s login anytime, anywhere; print books will be available for in-library use only. Note that because of various publisher restrictions, not all textbooks are available for the library to purchase. The library strives to purchase unlimited user eBook versions when available but will get the next best option (single user eBook, print, etc.) when that option is unavailable. We refresh the collection each semester based on what classes are being offered and which texts they require.

Art Databases

Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes art publications from around the world, including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Includes Art Index Retrospective, providing indexing back to 1929.
Art Full Text indexes more than 400 leading art publications from around the world, including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, and provides the full text for more than 100 periodicals. Our access includes Art Index Retrospective, which extends indexing back to 1929. Together, these databases cover topics such as art history, archaeology, architecture, crafts, film, folk art, graphic arts, industrial design, interior design, landscape architecture, museology, painting, photography, sculpture, and textiles. The databases also index reproductions of works of art that appear anywhere in the indexed publications. Full text coverage begins in 1997.
Artstor on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital library of more than 1 million of images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences

Found a good article in a database and it's not full text?