Research Guides: Business Research Guide: Find Articles

Business Databases

Use these resources to find company profiles, industry reports, scholarly journal and business publication articles, and more.

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
A good place to start for most business research topics. Covers all areas of business, including management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Provides reports for 700+ U.S. industries. Reports provide key statistics, segmentation, market characteristics, industry conditions, key competitors, industry performance and outlook.

PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
An online tool for mapping and analyzing data from the US, including demographics, housing, income, crime, health, jobs and more. Data can be used to create interactive maps and customized reports.

Business Publications & News

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Contains articles from thousands of scholarly and professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines. Fortune, Forbes, Harvard Business Review, Inc., Fast Company, Businessweek, McKinsey Quarterly, and Entrepreneur can be found through BSP.
Wall Street Journal: 1984-current This link opens in a new window
Full text access via ProQuest Newspapers
New York Times: 1980-current This link opens in a new window
Access to the New York Times newspaper (from 1980-present) using the ProQuest search system.
U.S. Newsstream - Proquest This link opens in a new window
Recent U.S. full-text articles from major national papers such as the New York Times, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, and Los Angeles Times (from 1980 to present).
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces.
Star Tribune: 1986-current (text only) This link opens in a new window
Full text access via ProQuest Newspapers. Most recent articles may be delayed up to 24 hours.
St. Paul Pioneer Press This link opens in a new window
Access World News This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of reliable international news sources covering a wide array of topics and issues.

Finding a Research Study with Inferential Statistics

Some of your business courses will require that you find a quantitative research study that uses inferential statistics. Use Google Scholar or Academic Search Premier for your searching (business databases aren't going to be helpful for this assignment).

Make sure you access Google Scholar through the Library to see our journal holdings, and limit your results in Academic Search Premier to peer-viewed. Access both databases by clicking the Article Databases button on the Library homepage.

You'll want to add any of the following terms to your search: p-values or p values, "confidence interval" or "inferential statistics"

Review this video by my colleague, Lizzy Tegeler, for a similar economics assignment (start the video at 57 seconds).