Research Guides: Psychology: Journal Articles

Databases for Journal Articles

PsycINFO is the primary index for all aspects of psychology literature, published in the U.S. and internationally.

To limit to Empirical articles in PsycINFO, see the options under Methodology.

PsycInfo & PsycArticles
A primary psychology research database from the American Psychological Association. Also covers psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, sociology, education, social work, sports, business, and political science.
DSM-5-TR
The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR), is a standard reference for clinical practice in mental health, providing a classification of mental disorders to facilitate diagnosis.
Psychiatry Online
An online library of books and journals related to psychiatry, mental health and behavioral science from the American Psychiatric Association. Includes the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR).
PTSDpubs
A finding aid to the published literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health consequences of exposure to traumatic events, with coverage from 1871 to the present.
A finding aid to the published literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health consequences of exposure to traumatic events, with coverage from 1871 to the present.

Academic Search Premier
A multidisciplinary database that is a good starting point for many topics.
Covers 1975 to the present.
MEDLINE via EBSCO
A primary database for journal articles in medicine, nursing, physical and occupational therapy, public health, health care administration, and more. Uses the EBSCO search system to access MEDLINE.
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's bibliographic covering all fields of medicine and medical research. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,300 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. Coverage through EBSCO begins with 1950.
PubMed
Uses the National Library of Medicine's search system to access MEDLINE, a primary database for journal articles in medicine, nursing, physical and occupational therapy, public health, health care administration, and more.
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's bibliographic covering all fields of medicine and medical research. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,300 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. Coverage through PubMed begins in 1879.
SAGE Knowledge
A collection of more than 170 specialized encyclopedias and handbooks in medicine, social sciences, and environmental science.
ScienceDirect
A full-text journal article collection, mostly from scientific, medical, and technical fields.
Coverage begins in 1997 for most titles.