Skip to Main Content

Psychology

A research guide for students interested in Psychology with links to important resources and databases.

Background information

Dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks are good starting points for research!

These sources can help you:

get an authoritative overview of your topic
find brief, factual info and definitions to supplement other sources
develop ideas to help narrow a topic or begin your research
get familiar with terms and concepts used in this field

These sources are either online or in the Library's Reference Area.

Ask a Librarian if you need help finding background sources!

Suggested Web Sites

American Psychological Association
A comprehensive directory of APA's programs, services, publications, online newsletters and brochures, grants and fellowships, and information on employment.
Association of Black Psychologists
"Sees its mission and destiny as the liberation of the African Mind, empowerment of the African Character, and enlivenment and illumination of the African Spirit."
Online Psychology Career Center
An index to career options, job listings, internships, research projects, organizations, educational programs, funding sources, journals, and study tips for psychology students. Produced by the Social Psychology Network at Wesleyan University.
PsychWeb
Large, annotated directory of sites for information for professionals, educators, and psychology students. Includes tip sheets for psychology majors on writing papers, planning research projects, choosing careers and finding jobs, and applying to graduate school. Produced at Georgia Southern University.

Reference Books

Available in the Reference Area of the St. Paul Library.

(For electronic books, see Find Books)

APA Dictionary of Psychology by Gary R. VandenBos, ed.
Baker Encyclopedia of Psychology and Counseling by David G. Benner & Peter C. Hill, eds.
Call Number: St. Paul Reference BF 31 .B25 1999
Biographical Dictionary of Psychology by Noel Sheehy, Antony J. Chapman, Wendy A. Conroy, eds.
Corsini Concise Encyclopedia of Psychology & Behavioral Science by W. Edward Craighead and Charles B. Nemeroff, eds.
Call Number: Online Reference Resource
The Encyclopedia of Posititve Psychology by Shane J. Lopez
Call Number: St. Paul Reference BF204.6 .E53 2009
Encyclopedia of Psychology by Alan E. Kazdin, ed.
Call Number: St. Paul Reference BF 31 .E52 2000
Extensive coverage of all aspects of psychology.
8 vols.
Ethics desk reference for psychologists by Jeffrey E. Barnett and W. Brad Johnson, eds.
Call Number: SCU Reference BF76.4 .B37 2008
Magill's Encyclopedia of Social Science : Psychology by Nancy A. Piotrowski, ed.
Call Number: St. Paul Reference BF 31 .M33 (2003)
4 vols.
Online Encyclopedia of Psychology
Call Number: Free on the Web
Free encyclopedia produced at Jacksonville (AL) State University

E-Reference Collections

Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology
Available via Gale eBooks
SAGE Knowledge
A collection of more than 170 specialized encyclopedias and handbooks. Particularly strong in the social sciences, medicine, and the environment.
A Dictionary of Psychology
Available via Oxford Reference
The Oxford Companion to the Mind
Psychology of Classroom Learning: An Encyclopedia
Available via Gale eBooks

Search for Articles, Books, and More!

©2024 St. Catherine University Library, St. Paul, Minnesota, USA

Creative Commons License

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License