Nutrition

This link brings you to the Evidence Analysis Library of the eatright.org Web site. Information provided helps identify treatment, practice guidelines and interventions based on scientific data and empirical evidence. Executive summaries of recommendations are available to the public; full reports are available only to Academy members.

Consumer and professional information on foods, daily diet and nutrition. The MyPlate approach replaces the former Food Pyramid.

A service of the FDA (Food and Drug Administration), this site provides a wealth of information of food safety, storage and preparation, nutrition, labeling, importation, food additives, cosmetics and more.

An agency of the U.S. Department of Agriculture. Dietary and Food Pyramid guidelines, reports and research, full text of the semiannual newsletter Family Economics and Nutrition Review.

The FNIC is based at the National Agricultural Library. Provides info on hundreds of topics, as well as sections on food composition, dietary supplements and guidelines, a consumer corner and several searchable databases. Highly recommended site.

Nutritional information, including full-text documents on cooking, food science, food management, safety, recipes and online journals.

Features useful, sound eating guides, calorie counter, special diets, weight control, cooking, food safety, special topics and recipes.

Web site providing portal access to multiple agencies of the U.S. Federal government. Provides info on nutrition, food safety, dietary guidance, exercise and weight control, management of diabetes and heart disease, and more. Also, provides links to federal programs such as food stamps, WIC, school lunch, and much government-funded research.

The NIH Office of Dietary Supplements website contains information on nutritional supplements, including nutrient recommendations and consumer protection resources.