Research Guides: Critical Studies of Race and Ethnicity Research Guide: Articles

Databases for Journal Articles

Critical Studies of Race and Ethnicity is an interdisciplinary field. Subject areas may cross sociology, psychology, political science, and other areas of study. For a variety of approaches and perspectives on research and topics, try several different databases.

Found a good article in a database and it's not full text?

Click on to see if St. Kate's has the article in another database or in print.

Databases for Journal Articles

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Great place to begin! Finds newspaper, academic and trade journals on a wide variety of subjects.
Covers 1975 to the present.
Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
A collection of journals, newspaper, and magazine articles from 1991 onwards with a focus on international alternative, radical, and left periodicals.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive sociology database with strong coverage of social work, anthropology, and education.
A comprehensive social sciences research database with full text for more than 1,700 journals dating back to 1908. It also provides full text for more than 830 books and 14,000 conference papers. Subject indexing is based on a sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers.
U.S. Newsstream - Proquest This link opens in a new window
Recent U.S. full-text articles from major national papers such as the New York Times, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, and Los Angeles Times (from 1980 to present).

Critical Studies - More databases to try

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles on U.S. and Canadian History.

A complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. It indexes and abstracts more than 2,000 journals published worldwide. Book reviews, media reviews, and disserations are also indexed. Indexing began in 1954. This database is produced by ABC-CLIO, but you access it through EBSCO.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals in communication, mass media, and related fields.
This database offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 440 journals in communication and mass media, selective coverage of nearly 200 additional journals, and full text for more than 500 journals. Many of the more important journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable cited references from their first issues (dating as far back as 1915) to the present.

Special features include a Communication Thesaurus, searchable cited references for peer-reviewed journals, and profiles providing biographical and bibliographical data for of more than 3,000 authors in the field.

The database incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of scholarly full-text journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
The JSTOR archive holds the complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals, starting with the very first issues, some dating as far back as the 1600s. Subject areas include the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

JSTOR includes various collections, and the St. Kate's Library has purchased the Arts and Sciences Collections I-VII and the Biological Sciences Collection. These collections include subsets for ecology & botany, language & literature, and music.

JSTOR's agreements with publishers often include a "moving wall," which means that the most recent years (typically 3-5 years) are not available.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
A finding aid to publications about public policy and social issues from 120 countries
Database chronicling global public policy and social issues. Indexes periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, Internet resources, and other publications from 120 countries. Coverage begins in 1915.
PsycInfo & PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
A primary psychology research database from the American Psychological Association. Also covers psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, sociology, education, social work, sports, business, and political science.
PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window
A finding aid to the published literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health consequences of exposure to traumatic events, with coverage from 1871 to the present.
A finding aid to the published literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health consequences of exposure to traumatic events, with coverage from 1871 to the present.