One Read for Racial Justice Guide: Dear America

• Documented by Jose Antonio Vargas

  Call Number: Streaming

  Publication Date: 2014

  In 2011, journalist Jose Antonio Vargas outed himself as an undocumented immigrant in an essay published in the "New York times magazine." The film chronicles his journey to America from the Philippines as a child; his journey through America as an immigration reform activist; and his journey inward as he re-connects with his mother, whom he hasn't seen in person in over 20 years. Also available on DVD at call number JV6456 .D63 2014 (DVD).
• Don't Tell Anyone/No le digas a nadie

  Call Number: JV7048 .D66 2015

  Publication Date: 2015

  Since the age of 4, Angy Rivera has lived in the U.S. with a secret that threatens to upend her life: she is undocumented. Angy arrived with her mother, fleeing violence, poverty, and civil war in their native Colombia. For 20 years they live in shadows, struggling to stay afloat financially and avoid deportation while battling a complex and inequitable immigration system.
• Forbidden: Undocumented & Queer in Rural America

  Call Number: Streaming

  Publication Date: 2016

  When Moises Serrano was just a baby, his parents risked everything to flee Mexico in search of the American dream. Forbidden to live and love as an undocumented gay man in the country he calls home, Serrano saw only one option: to fight for justice.
• The Other Side of Immigration

  Call Number: JV7401 .O83 2010

  Publication Date: 2010

  Based on over 700 interviews in rural Mexican towns where about half the population has left to work in the United States, [this film] asks why so many Mexicans come to the U.S. and what happens to the families and communities they leave behind

• Ameri-pino: Recognizing Filipino Heritage in America

  As a multi‐ethnic American of Filipino heritage, Patrick uses a cine‐ethnographic approach to discover what it is to be an American Filipino. Despite the generational struggles of heritage recognition, hyphenated identity, and discovery of ethnic discrimination, Ameri‐Pino reveals the strengths of the American Filipino community.
• Bitter Rice

  The Philippines is a country with a long history of revolution dating back to Spanish and American colonisation and Japanese occupation. Bitter Rice focuses on the story of Bernabe Buscayno, alias Kommanda Dante, a legendary figure who has devoted his life to the struggle for a free Philippines. Using economic means to fight political ends, Dante formed the People's Livelihood Foundation, a co-operative of rice farmers in Capas. Having seized their land, the PLF then took on the multinational fertiliser companies, the middlemen who market the rice and set the prices - and the banks whose interest rates cripple the farmers.
• Dual Citizen

  A mini-documentary series that explores what it means to be 100% Filipino and 100% Canadian, through interviews with artists, activists, professors, nurses, and more.
• Homeland: Immigration in America

  This PBS series originally aired in 2012, leading up to the Presidential election. It explores immigration from multiple points of view and takes a look at what issues voters are thinking about as they head to the polls.
• Human Flow

  Over 65 million people around the world have been forced from their homes to escape famine, climate change and war in the greatest human displacement since World War II. Human Flow, an epic film journey led by the internationally renowned artist Ai Weiwei, gives a powerful visual expression to this massive human migration.
• Immigration Battle

  Inside the hard-fought battles and secret negotiations over immigration reform on Capitol Hill. Explore President Obama's push for policy changes that could impact the fate of millions and define what it means to be American for decades to come.
• Taiye Selasi: Don't ask where I'm from, ask where I'm a local

  In this lecture from TEDGlobal 2014, writer Taiye Selasi explores the idea that people can be connected to more than one city or place, making the question "where are you from?" difficult to answer. Transcript available on the website.
• To Conquer or Redeem: Manifest Destiny

  With the closing of the American West, Manifest Destiny was in need of new direction. The section "New Frontiers" considers implications of Frederick Jackson Turner's Frontier Thesis as it scrutinizes U.S. history from the end of the Gilded Age to the brink of the Spanish-American War. "An Empire of Liberty" takes a step back to assess aspects of Manifest Destiny from its birth during the pre-Revolutionary era through Reconstruction. And "Benevolent Assimilation" provides an in-depth look at the Spanish-American War, the Philippines Insurrection, the annexations of Puerto Rico and Hawaii, and U.S. intervention in China during the Boxer Rebellion to illustrate how expanded economic influence, military might, and presidential powers contributed to U.S. imperialism during the administrations of Presidents McKinley and Theodore Roosevelt.
• Welcome to Shelbyville

  Set in the heart of America's bible belt, Welcome To Shelbyville follows a small Southern town as they grapple with rapid demographic change and issues of immigrant integration. Shot between the 2008 Presidential election and spring 2009, the film captures the complexity of the African American, Latino, white and Somali subjects as their lives intertwine against the backdrop of a crumbling economy and a promising new Administration.
• White People

  What does it mean to be white? MTV’s ‘White People’ is a groundbreaking documentary on race that aims to answer that question from the viewpoint of young white people living in America today. The film follows Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist and filmmaker, Jose Antonio Vargas, as he travels across the country to get this complicated conversation started.

• Scene on Radio: Seeing White

  A podcast from the Center for Documentary Studies at Duke University that explores stories of the human experience and American society. Transcripts available on website.
• How to Be American

  The Tenement Museum explores what "being American" has meant throughout the history of the United States in this podcast.
• Only in America

  From the National Immigration Forum, a non-partisan immigrant advocacy group, this podcast dives deep into how the immigration debate is seen from multiple perspectives.
• Immigration Nation

  Kara Lynum, an immigration lawyer in St. Paul, looks at the history of immigration in the United States and explores current issues related to immigration.
• This Week in Immigration

  The Bipartisan Policy Center gives a thirty-minute run-down of what's happened this week in the world of immigration policy and news.
• Status: Immigration & People

  Status puts a human voice and story to immigration around the globe.

• America: History & Life This link opens in a new window

  Scholarly articles on U.S. and Canadian History.
   

  more... less...

  A complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. It indexes and abstracts more than 2,000 journals published worldwide. Book reviews, media reviews, and disserations are also indexed. Indexing began in 1954. This database is produced by ABC-CLIO, but you access it through EBSCO.

• Immigrations, Migrations and Refugees: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996 This link opens in a new window

  A collection of news reports and transcripts from media sources outside the United States focusing on refugees and migration.

  more... less...

  Reports from Foreign Broadcast Information Services (FBIS) looking at the refugee flows during World War ll through 1996.

• Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window

  A database that provides access to scholarly articles on world history

  more... less...

  This resource excludes the history of United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life. Indexes and abstracts articles from more than 2,000 journals. Also includes book reviews and dissertations. Indexing coverage begins in 1954.
  
  This database is produced by ABC-CLIO, but you access it through the EBSCO website.

• Pew Research Center

  The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. Covers a wide variety of topics and issues.
• Filipino American National Historical Society

  An organization that works to preserve and educate about the history and culture of Filipino Americans.
• Midwest Association of Filipino Americans

  Promotes Filipino and Filipino American culture and recognition in the Midwest region of the United States.
• Asian Americans Advancing Justice

  An organization with the mission to advance civil and human rights for Asian Americans.
• Advocates for Human Rights: Migrant Rights

  A 501(c)(3) organization with the mission of implementing international human rights standards through research, education, and advocacy.
• Citizenship Test Questions

  What does a citizenship test entail? Take a look at the questions to find out.

• Inside the Numbers: How Immigration Shapes Asian American & Pacific Island Communities

  A 2019 report from Asian Americans Advancing Justice which takes an in-depth look at demographics, immigration pathways and systems, and recommendations for improving immigration policy.

• Immigrant History Research Center (IHRC)

  Research, primary resources, and curriculum for creating digital stories around immigrant experiences.
• (Un)documenting

  "Undocumenting is a curatorial project that seeks to collect and highlight the body of creative work by #undocumented artists. Undocumenting also aims to engage in dialogue and reflection around matters of agency, identity, creativity, self-expression and intersectionality around the migrant experience and beyond."