This guide contains a collection of resources (books, articles, websites, etc) and helpful hints to guide your international studies research. Use it as a starting point and don't hesitate to contact the Libraries via phone, chat or email if you need additional assistance.
Indexes publications about public policy and social issues from 120 countries
Database chronicling global public policy and social issues. Indexes periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, Internet resources, and other publications from 120 countries. Coverage begins in 1915.
An collection of scholarly full-text journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. You can filter to journals in disciplines such as:
-Peace & Conflict Studies
-Latin American Studies
-Middle East Studies
The JSTOR archive holds the complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals, starting with the very first issues, some dating as far back as the 1600s. Subject areas include the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
JSTOR includes various collections, and the St. Kate's Library has purchased the Arts and Sciences Collections I-VII and the Biological Sciences Collection. These collections include subsets for ecology & botany, language & literature, and music.
JSTOR's agreements with publishers often include a "moving wall," which means that the most recent years (typically 3-5 years) are not available.
An Internet search engine for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports.
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Our link to Google Scholar enables you to see which documents you can access through St. Kate's.
Core International Studies/Political Science Journals
International Political Science Review
International Political Science Abstracts
Annual Review of Political Science
Human Rights Quarterly
Journal of Conflict Resolution
Journal of Peace Research
International Studies Quarterly
Find more high impact international studies/political science journals here