Research Guides: International Relations Research Guide: Articles

Librarian

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Library, CdC 115

651-690-8738

Subjects: Art & Art History, Critical Studies in Race & Ethnicity, Economics, Family & Consumer Science, International Relations, Law, Organizational Leadership, Political Science, Sociology, TRW

Core International Studies/Political Science Journals

International Political Science Review
International Organization
International Political Science Abstracts
Annual Review of Political Science
International Security
Human Rights Quarterly
American Diplomacy
Journal of Conflict Resolution
Journal of Peace Research
World Politics
International Studies Quarterly

Find more high impact international studies/political science journals here

Search for Articles, Books, and More!

International Relations Databases

PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes publications about public policy and social issues from 120 countries
Database chronicling global public policy and social issues. Indexes periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, Internet resources, and other publications from 120 countries. Coverage begins in 1915.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An collection of scholarly full-text journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. You can filter to journals in disciplines such as:
-International Relations
-Development Studies
-Peace & Conflict Studies
-Political Science
-Area Studies
-African Studies
-Asian Studies
-Latin American Studies
-Middle East Studies
-Slavic Studies
The JSTOR archive holds the complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals, starting with the very first issues, some dating as far back as the 1600s. Subject areas include the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

JSTOR includes various collections, and the St. Kate's Library has purchased the Arts and Sciences Collections I-VII and the Biological Sciences Collection. These collections include subsets for ecology & botany, language & literature, and music.

JSTOR's agreements with publishers often include a "moving wall," which means that the most recent years (typically 3-5 years) are not available.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
An all-purpose academic database that is a good starting point for many topics.
Covers 1975 to the present.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
An Internet search engine for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports.
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Our link to Google Scholar enables you to see which documents you can access through St. Kate's.

Scholarly vs. Popular: Explained

Most instructors at the college level require that all or most of the periodicals your use in writing research papers come from scholarly journals. This is especially true for upper-division courses and essential in graduate work.

What is a Scholarly Journal?

Scholarly journals always cite their sources in the form of bibliographies or footnotes/endnotes.
Articles are written by a scholar in the field or by someone who has done research in the field.
The author’s name appears at the beginning or the end of the article, sometimes with brief biographical or contact information.
Scholarly journals often have a sober, serious appearance.
They often contain graphs and charts, but few glossy pages, ads or images.
The language of a scholarly journal is that of the discipline covered.
It assumes the reader has some background in the field.
The main purpose of a scholarly journal is to report on original research or experimentation for the benefit of the rest of the scholarly world.
Many scholarly journals, though not all, are published by specific professional associations.

What are some examples of Scholarly Journals?

Journal of Educational Research
AMA: The Journal of the American Medical Association
Psychological Bulletin
Journal of Social Work Education

What are NOT Scholarly Journals?

News magazines: Time, Newsweek, US News and World Report
Opinion Magazines: New Republic, National Review, The Nation
Popular Magazines: Vogue, Better Homes and Gardens, Sports Illustrated
Trade Journals: Beverage World, Automotive News
Sensational/Celebrity Publications: Globe, National Enquirer, Entertainment Weekly