Research Guides: Organizational Leadership Research Guide: Articles

Getting Started

Because of the multidisciplinary nature of Organizational Leadership, some of you may need databases specializing in various topics. Examples may include business, healthcare, IT, education, psychology, social services -- even librarianship! Read the description of the databases listed here and choose one that is relevant to your topic.

Hints:

Academic Search Premier contains articles covering a wide variety of subjects. It can be a good place to begin!
Business Source Premier contains articles on leadership theory and practice.
Google Scholar, if accessed via the Library website, connects to our database subscriptions when applicable.

For help selecting a journal database, contact Lizzy (or another librarian).

Top Databases for ORLD

Business Source Premier
A good place to start for most business research topics. Covers all areas of business, including management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more.
Academic Search Premier
A multidisciplinary database that is a good starting point for many topics.
Covers 1975 to the present.
Google Scholar
An Internet search engine for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports.
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Our link to Google Scholar enables you to see which documents you can access through St. Kate's.

Business & ORLD

Business Source Premier
A good place to start for most business research topics. Covers all areas of business, including management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more.
Wall Street Journal: 1984-current
Full text access via ProQuest Newspapers

Healthcare & ORLD

CINAHL Ultimate
The primary database for nursing and alied health research with access to journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations.
CINAHL indexes all major nursing periodicals published in English, as well as selected periodicals for health education, laboratory technology, occupational therapy, physical therapy and rehabilitation, radiology, respiratory therapy and social services in health care. Provides the full text of more than 1,300 journals, some with PDF backfiles to 1937. Indexing began in 1982.
MEDLINE via EBSCO
A primary database for journal articles in medicine, nursing, physical and occupational therapy, public health, health care administration, and more. Uses the EBSCO search system to access MEDLINE.
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's bibliographic covering all fields of medicine and medical research. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,300 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. Coverage through EBSCO begins with 1950.
MEDLINE via PubMed
Uses the National Library of Medicine's search system to access MEDLINE, a primary database for journal articles in medicine, nursing, physical and occupational therapy, public health, health care administration, and more.
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's bibliographic covering all fields of medicine and medical research. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,300 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. Coverage through PubMed begins in 1879.
PsycInfo & PsycArticles
A primary psychology research database from the American Psychological Association. Also covers psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, sociology, education, social work, sports, business, and political science.

Newspapers & Current Events

Alternative Press Index
A collection of journals, newspaper, and magazine articles from 1991 onwards with a focus on international alternative, radical, and left periodicals.
Minneapolis Star Tribune (1867-2001)
Full-page images of the Minneapolis Star Tribune from Proquest Historical Newspapers.
New York Times: 1980-current
Access to the New York Times newspaper (from 1980-present) using the ProQuest search system.
Regional Business News
Provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces.
Star Tribune: 1986-current (text only)
Full text access via ProQuest Newspapers. Most recent articles may be delayed up to 24 hours.
Wall Street Journal: 1984-current
Full text access via ProQuest Newspapers

Where's the full article?

You have found the perfect article, now you want the full article.
Here's what you do:

1. Look for the link: PDF (or HTML) Full Text. This is the full article.

2. If there is no PDF for the article, look for the button: Find It @ St. Kate's. If we have the article in another database, you might be linked right to the article. Sometimes you will be linked to the journal, and you can navigate to the year/issue/page you need.

3. Unfortunately, sometimes the article will not be available in any St. Kate's resource. In that case, your best option is to request a copy of the article using Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Use the link provided.

Allow 3-5 days for electronic deliver of ILL articles. There is no charge to you for this service.
More about ILL..