Research Guides: Library and Information Science: Articles & Databases

Library Science Databases

Library Literature & Information Science Full Text This link opens in a new window
An index to library and information science publications with some full-text journal articles.
Indexing coverage begins in 1984; full text coverage begins in 1994. For retrospective indexing coverage beginning with 1921, please consult the printed volumes of Library Literature. in the St. Paul Campus Library.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) This link opens in a new window
Indexes publications related to librarianship, online information retrieval, information management, and related topics.
LISTA supports research in many areas of librarianship, providing indexing and abstracts for more than 600 periodicals, as well as books, research reports, and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, search engines, printed and electronic information sources, the information industry, scholarly communication, and electronic publishing.

Other databases to try

Education Database - Proquest This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for education and related fields, containing articles (scholarly, trade, and magazine), dissertations, and more.
ProQuest Education Database covers not only the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education but also special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics. Coverage begins in 1988.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
A collection of journal articles, government publications, and documents in education and related fields.
ERIC links to selected full text articles and documents from the Education Resources Information Center (ERIC), sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that is a good starting point for many topics.
Covers 1975 to the present.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
An Internet search engine for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports.
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Our link to Google Scholar enables you to see which documents you can access through St. Kate's.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of scholarly full-text journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
The JSTOR archive holds the complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals, starting with the very first issues, some dating as far back as the 1600s. Subject areas include the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

JSTOR includes various collections, and the St. Kate's Library has purchased the Arts and Sciences Collections I-VII and the Biological Sciences Collection. These collections include subsets for ecology & botany, language & literature, and music.

JSTOR's agreements with publishers often include a "moving wall," which means that the most recent years (typically 3-5 years) are not available.

Research on Diversity in Youth Literature (RDYL)

Research on Diversity in Youth Literature (RDYL)
Research on Diversity in Youth Literature (RDYL) is a peer-reviewed, online, open-access journal hosted by St. Catherine University’s Master of Library and Information Science Program and University Library. RDYL is published twice a year; some issues will center around a particular theme.

Library & Information Science Journals

Below are links to major library & information science. Please note that these represent a mixture of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals and trade journals used to keep up on library trends and issues. Note: If the links below do not lead to current, full text access, search for the publication in one of the library and information science databases to get citation level access and request articles via interlibrary loan.

General

In the Library with the Lead Pipe
"an open access, open peer reviewed journal founded and run by an international team of librarians working in various types of libraries."
Library Trends
A peer-reviewed journal with themed issues covering a wide variety of library and information topics.
Library Quarterly
"As a leading interdisciplinary journal of library research, The Library Quarterly embraces a wide array of original research perspectives, approaches, and quantitative, qualitative, evaluative, analytic, and mixed methodology to assess the role of libraries in communities and in society."
Journal of Critical Library & Information Studies
Journal of Library Administration
Reference & User Services Quarterly

Public Libraries

American Libraries
A trade magazine to keep up-to-date on trends in libraries for members of the American Library Association
Public Libraries Magazine

Academic Libraries

College & Research Libraries
A peer-reviewed journal for the Association of College & Research Libraries
College & Research Libraries News
Journal of Academic Librarianship
portal: Libraries & the Academy
Communications in Information Literacy

Archives

School Libraries

School Library Journal
School Library Research
Knowledge Quest
A peer-reviewed journal published by the American Association of School Librarians

Special Libraries

Information Outlook
Available in print via the library or through membership in the Special Library Association
Art Documentation
Bulletin of the Art Libraries Society of North America
Law Library Journal
Journal of the Medical Library Association

Youth Services

Journal of Research on Libraries and Young Adults
Young Adult Library Services
Children & Libraries
A peer-reviewed journal from the Association of Library Services to Children

Cataloging & Technical Services