Statistical & Census Data

(Data that was previously found on American Factfinder) This new database from the US Census Bureau is used to find population, housing, and business statistics including population, housing, race, economics, and social characteristics. summaries, and the economic census.

Find data on wages and earnings by occupation and geographic area, as well as, earning by other variables such as: education, age, sex, race, etc. Also consumer materials here, like the Consumer Expenditure Survey.

Information about documented immigrants to the U.S., from the U.S. Department of Homeland Security

"MPI provides analysis, development, and evaluation of migration and refugee policies at the local, national, and international levels. It aims to meet the rising demand for pragmatic and thoughtful responses to the challenges and opportunities that large-scale migration, whether voluntary or forced, presents to communities and institutions in an increasingly integrated world."

From Princeton University, data from several research projects on immigration, including the Mexican Migration Project, the Latin America Migration Project, the Immigrant Identity Project, and the New Immigrant Survey.

Longitudinal socioeconomic study of multiple generations of families, focusing on family finances, health, and education; from the University of Michigan's Institute for Social Research.

Archive of demographic data

Data sets from The New Immigrant Survey. Must register with the Office of Population Research (OPR) Data Archive to view the data (instructions on the site).

Data from the L.A. Family and Neighborhood Survey, a study of adults, teens, children, and neighborhoods in Los Angeles County. Registration is required to view the public data (information on site).

fine-grained population density information and mapping for Africa, Asia, and Central and South America

Contains data on 136 population, environmental, and health variables for over 220 countries worldwide including education, reproductive, and regional statistics. United States data are also searchable.

Surveys on voting, political opinions, and opinions on socioeconomic situations, conducted every 2 years since 1948

Survey of people's opinions on social issues, conducted annually or biennially since 1972.

From the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, both public and restricted state and national surveys

The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. Covers a wide variety of topics and issues.

Opinion polls and data from the 1930's to present. We do not subscribe to Gallup so we may not have full reports, but summaries are full of great information.

Database of questions asked in CBS public opinion surveys since 1976, searchable by topic and presented graphically.

CESSDA compiles survey data from national social science data centers of European countries

Political and personal opinions spanning over fifty countries since 1981.

LAPOP releases the AmericasBarometer survey, covering every country in North, South, and Central America, and much of the Caribbean.

Includes information on health care, health risks, retirement and economics of the U.S. aging population. The website of the Federal Interagency Forum on Aging-Related Statistics. The report Older Americans: Key Indicators of Well-Being is available here (covering 31 key indicators selected by the Forum to portray aspects of the lives of older Americans and their families. It is divided into five subject areas: population, economics, health status, health risks and behaviors, and health care.) The site also links to aging-related statistical information on Forum member websites.

Organization that does data collection and substantive and methodological research on aging.

Provides statistical reports on the status of US children and their families. Coverage includes population and family characteristics, economic security, health, behavior and social environment, and education. From the Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics.

Profiles the well-being of America’s children on a state-by-state basis and ranks states on 10 key measures of child well-being.

This organization gathers and evaluates data about children and families. The compile the annual "Kids Count" on the status of children.

Gateway site overseen by the US Dept. of Health and Human Services. Up-to-date, authoritative information, statistics and resources on children, families, adoption, foster care, more.

Sponsored by UNICEF, includes statistical data on child survival and health, child nutrition, maternal health, newborn care, water and sanitation, education, child protection and HIV/AIDS.

A research and advocacy organization; priorities include child poverty, stabilizing families, providing mental and health care coverage, keeping children out of the juvenile justice system, and recruiting child advocates.

Link to the Statistical Briefing book with statistical data on juvenile crime and victimization and on youth involved in the juvenile justice system.