Alternative Press Index is a database of more than 368,000 journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Coverage, beginning in 1991, is both international and interdisciplinary.
Alternative Press Index Archive is a database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 700 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals covering the period of 1969 through 1990. Includes theories and practices of socialism and revolution alongside ecology, democracy and anarchism, feminism and organized labor, indigenous peoples, and gays/lesbians.
An Internet search engine for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports.
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Our link to Google Scholar enables you to see which documents you can access through St. Kate's.
An archive of scholarly full-text journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
The JSTOR archive holds the complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals, starting with the very first issues, some dating as far back as the 1600s. Subject areas include the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
JSTOR includes various collections, and the St. Kate's Library has purchased the Arts and Sciences Collections I-VII and the Biological Sciences Collection. These collections include subsets for ecology & botany, language & literature, and music.
JSTOR's agreements with publishers often include a "moving wall," which means that the most recent years (typically 3-5 years) are not available.
The premier database for psychology research, the online version of Psychological Abstracts; includes PsycARTICLES full text journals.
PsycINFO indexes and provides abstracts for journal articles, books, dissertations, and other publications. PsycARTICLES provides the full text of more than 90 journals published by the American Psychological Association. Besides psychology, this database also covers psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Coverage begins in 1806.
A comprehensive social sciences database with strong coverage of sociology, anthropology, education, and social work
A comprehensive social sciences research database with full text for more than 1,700 journals dating back to 1908. It also provides full text for more than 830 books and 14,000 conference papers. Subject indexing is based on a sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers.
Women's Studies International (WSI) covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research, including the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education.
WSI combines ten files, including Women Studies Abstracts; Women's Studies Bibliography and Database; Women's Studies Database; Women Studies Librarian; MEDLINE Subset on Women; Women of Color and Southern Women; and Women's Health and Development: An Annotated Bibliography for a total of over 400,000 records.
Stuck? Try these search terms:
Gay and Lesbian Studies
Gay Liberation Movement
Search for Articles, Books, and More!
Search for books, journals, articles, media & more
LibSearch Guide: For more help, including how to request items in LibSearch that are not at St. Kate's.