Women & Gender Studies

The American Association of University Women (AAUW) is the nation’s leading voice promoting equity and education for women and girls. Since our founding in 1881, AAUW members have examined and taken positions on the fundamental issues of the day — educational, social, economic, and political.

Established in 1977, the National Women's Studies Association has as one of its primary objectives promoting and supporting the production and dissemination of knowledge about women and gender through teaching, learning, research and service in academic and other settings.

The Center for American Women and Politics (CAWP), a unit of the Eagleton Institute of Politics at Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, is nationally recognized as the leading source of scholarly research and current data about American women’s political participation.

Part of the United Nations, UN Women provides information on international women's issues.

From the US State Department. Current issues facing women worldwide.

Largest organization of feminist activists. Includes activism information and information on women's issues.

Minnesota organization that promotes equality for girls and women. Resources include reports on the status of women and grant information. See the new report Status of Women in Minnesota Counties. Includes information of reproductive rights, economic and employment status of women, health, and political participation of women in Minnesota counties.

Research in the following areas: welfare reform, low-wage workers, social security reform, paid and unpaid family leave, child care, flexible work arrangements, changing family and work structures, pay equity, affirmative action, the wage gap, part-time and contingent work, women and unions, women in management, unemployment insurance, access to health insurance, costs and benefits of preventative health services for women, costs of domestic violence, women's political participation.

Founded in 1971, the Association for Women in Science (AWIS) is the largest multi-disciplinary organization for women in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM). We are dedicated to driving excellence in STEM by achieving equity and full participation of women in all disciplines and across all employment sectors. AWIS reaches more than 20,000 professionals in STEM with members, chapters, and affiliates worldwide. Membership is open to any individual who supports the vision and mission of AWIS.

The National Park Service Project celebrates the historical and contemporary voices of women and recognize their struggles and successes in protecting the Mississippi River.

Lists women's history institutions and organizations, provides locations for archival and library collections, provides links to Internet resources on women's history, and lists women's studies journals and a few comprehensive link collections useful as a starting point for searching the Internet for women's studies in general.

Viva is a current bibliography of women's and gender history in scholarly journals.

The most comprehensive, current Library of Congress guide to materials on women.

Significant Legislation Passed by the Minnesota Legislature Since Suffrage.

Portal page to many web resources on Black Feminism. Maintained by Sherri L. Barnes at the University of California, Santa Barbara Libraries.

Advocacy organization that promotes "accurate and inclusive representation of people and events in the media as a means of eliminating homophobia and discrimination based on gender identity and sexual orientation." Provides national and local organization information, a news center with many articles and notices organized by geographical region, descriptions of GLAAD projects, media releases, and more.

Check out the Reports and Research tab.

Organization that advocates for LGBT equal rights. For information on the issues, check out the Issues tab.

Check out the Learn and Resources tabs.

Largest anti-sexual violence organization in the U.S. Created and operates the National Sexual Assault Hotline, among other advocacy work.

Legal and other information for victims of domestic violence and sexual assault.

Statisitcs, health topics and organizations, health tools, information about campaigns and activities. Recursos en español.

Information on many health topics and concerns for women.

Information on international women's health issues from the WHO.

Check out resources and links. Information on reproductive health, gender based violence, health sector reform. Information international in scope.

Organization dedicated to advancing sexual and reproductive health in the United States and worldwide through an interrelated program of social science research, policy analysis and public education.

News and Research from the National Breast Cancer Coalition, an advocacy group.

The Women’s Bureau was created by law in 1920 to formulate standards and policies to promote the welfare of wage-earning women, improve their working conditions, increase their efficiency, and advance their opportunities for profitable employment.

The National Women's Business Council is a bi-partisan federal advisory council created to serve as an independent source of advice and policy recommendations to the President, Congress, and the U.S. Small Business Administration on economic issues of importance to women business owners.

The International Association for Feminist Economics (IAFFE) is a continually expanding group of scholars, policy professionals, students, advocates and activists interested in empowering and improving the well-being of women and other under-represented groups around the world. IAFFE is a non-profit organization that seeks to advance feminist inquiry of economic issues and to educate economists and others on feminist points of view on economic issues.

Check out the links on Resources and Publications.

Organization whose agenda is: Pro-feminist, gay-affirmative, anti-racist, enhancing men's lives. Check out the "Task Groups" for information on a variety of topics including: Child Custody, Classism, Eliminating Racism, Ending Men's Violence, Fathering, Homophobia & Heterosexism, Men's Health & Mental Health, Men & Prisons, Men & Spirituality, Pornography & Prostitution, Reproductive Rights, Sexual Harassment.