Research Guides: Economics Research Guide: Getting Started

Getting Started on Your Research

Research Process
How do I choose a topic? How do I come up with a search strategy for that topic? Get help with these questions and more on the Research Process tutorials.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that is a good starting point for many topics.
Covers 1975 to the present.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
A finding aid to publications about public policy and social issues from 120 countries
Database chronicling global public policy and social issues. Indexes periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, Internet resources, and other publications from 120 countries. Coverage begins in 1915.

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
A good place to start for most business research topics. Covers all areas of business, including management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Provides reports for 700+ U.S. industries. Reports provide key statistics, segmentation, market characteristics, industry conditions, key competitors, industry performance and outlook.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces.
Wall Street Journal: 1984-current This link opens in a new window
Full text access via ProQuest Newspapers