Research Guides: Economics Research Guide: ECON 1120

Useful Websites

Websites of government organizations, international alliances, and NGOs are just a few examples of places to look for helpful resources, reports, and data in the field of economics. Here are some starting points:

Center on Women, Gender, and Public Policy
Illuminates gender-based disparities through research, teaching, and public engagement.
Freedom House
Watchdog organization that follows worldwide issues of freedom and democracy
Gov Info
Full-text databases and access to US Government documents: Congressional Directory, Congressional Bills, United States Code, Federal Register, and others.
Institute for Women's Policy Research
Research on a variety of social issues that impact women.
International Monetary Fund
Made up of 189 member countries working towards sustainable economic growth, the IMF website is rich in resources. Make sure to check out the Data and Publications pages.
Northwestern Institute for Policy Research
Interdisciplinary research and reports on public policy in the areas of: social disparities and health; quantitative methods for policy research; education; politics, institutions, and public policy; performance measurement and rewards; child, adolescent, and family studies; poverty, race, and inequality; and urban policy and community development.
Pew Research Center
The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. Covers a wide variety of topics and issues.
United Nations Human Development Report
Each year the Human Development Report (HDR) presents a wealth of statistical information on different aspects of human development.
United States Agency for International Development (USAID)
USAID's Reports and Data page offers various tools with which to review decades of humanitarian assistance.
World Bank
Select the "What We Do" tab for research reports and data.
The WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources
This website links to reliable and far-reaching international affairs topics. It's updated regularly, and organized by topic - navigate via the left-hand menu.

News Databases

The library has access to many newspapers through our databases. It's a different experience than looking on the newspapers own website, but if you don't have a subscription to reliable news, the databases help you avoid hitting any sort of "free article limit."

Access World News
A comprehensive collection of reliable international news sources covering a wide array of topics and issues.
New York Times: 1980-current
Access to the New York Times newspaper (from 1980-present) using the ProQuest search system.
Wall Street Journal: 1984-current
Full text access via ProQuest Newspapers

Scholarly articles

When searching these databases, you have the option to check the box next to either "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" or "Peer Reviewed" to limit to scholarly journals.

PAIS Index
A finding aid to publications about public policy and social issues from 120 countries
Database chronicling global public policy and social issues. Indexes periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, Internet resources, and other publications from 120 countries. Coverage begins in 1915.
Academic Search Premier
A multidisciplinary database that is a good starting point for many topics.
Covers 1975 to the present.

Economics Research Guide

Librarian

Useful Websites

News Databases

Scholarly articles

Search St. Kate's