Fashion Design and Merchandising Research Guide

• Bloomsbury Fashion Central This link opens in a new window

  The Berg Fashion Library contains the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, reference works, ebooks, images, and museum exhibitions.

• WWD Archive This link opens in a new window

  WWD (Women's Wear Daily) is an essential source of fashion news and trends, and a primary source for materials about the fashion industry and its evolution.

• Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window

  A searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images.

• Sourcing Journal

  Offers a hub of global news and information, relied upon by leaders in the textile, soft goods, and apparel industries.
• WindowsWear (sign up here)

  The world’s largest and most comprehensive visual database of retail and e-commerce. Content includes visual merchandising, window displays, retail & interior design, product packaging, e-commerce, technology and more from the hottest global brands. You must sign up with your St. Kate's email to access the site.

• National Council of Textile Organizations
• Cotton Incorporated
• National Cotton Council
• DuPont
• Emerging Textiles

  Delivers statistical reports on global textile and apparel trade. Our data are compiled from official sources with additional comments from our editorial staff. We cover fiber prices, textile and apparel markets and trade rules and negotiations" (from the site homepage).
• Fabric Link

  Textile resource for fabrics, apparel, home furnishings, and fabric care.
• Lenzing

  Manufacturer of sustainable fabrics, such as Tencel.
• Textiles Intelligence
• A-Z Glossary of Sustainable Fibres (1 Million Women website)
• Textile Fabric Types by Fiber Sources (Textile School website)
• Fabric Switch Guide

  From Common Objectives
• Textile Industry Affairs

  Understanding care labels and care symbols.
• Textile Technology Source

  Produced by the Industrial Fabrics Association International (IFAI),a not-for-profit trade association comprised of member companies representing the international advanced textiles and specialty fabrics marketplace.
• Textile World

  Business and industry news and events with articles about products, technology and manufacturing.

• Fashion Revolution

  World’s largest fashion activism movement, mobilising citizens, brands and policymakers through research, education and advocacy.
• Cascale (formerly Sustainable Apparel Coalition or SAC)

  The apparel, footwear, and textile industry’s leading alliance for sustainable production.
• Remake

  Gobal advocacy organization fighting for fair pay and climate justice in the clothing industry.
• Fossil-Free Fashion Scorecard 2025 (May)

  Ranking 42 of the most influential global fashion companies on their efforts to phase out fossil fuels by STAND.earth.
• Ellen MacArthur Foundation

  The foundation works to accelerate the transition to a circular economy. They develop and promote the idea of a circular economy, and work with business, academia, policymakers, and institutions to mobilise systems solutions at scale, globally.
• ThredUp Resale Report 2025